IMPORTANT LEGAL NOTICE - The information on this site is subject to a disclaimerand a copyright notice
EUROPA > European Commission > Economic and Financial Affairs The Euro: Our Currency

Welcome to the European Commission’s website on the euro, Europe’s single currency.

The euro is the currency of thirteen European Union countries, stretching from the Mediterranean to the Arctic Circle (namely Belgium, Germany, Greece, Spain, France, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Austria, Portugal, Slovenia and Finland).

As from 1 January 2008, the euro will also be the currency of Cyprus and Malta.

Euro banknotes and coins have been in circulation since 1 January 2002 and are now a part of daily life for 315 million Europeans living in the euro area.

To find out more about Europe’s currency, choose one of the options below