Which team will win the MLS Supporters' Shield?
  • D.C. United
  • Houston Dynamo
  • New England Revolution
  • Chivas USA

As of October 8, 1:00 a.m. ET

  home away
teamgpwltptsgfga+/- wltgfga wltgfga
x - D.C. United28166654543123 10123519 6541912
x - Chivas USA27156651452619 1003276 5631820
x - New England2814774947389 8243018 6531720
x - Houston28148648422319 8342211 6522012
x - FC Dallas2813114433742-5 7421715 6722027
x - New York28111163944431 8332815 3831628
Kansas City2810117374243-1 7532218 3642025
Chicago289109363036-6 5361515 4731521
Colorado288128322732-5 6351610 2931122
Columbus2871110313340-7 5551717 2651623
Los Angeles278136303545-10 5622223 3741322
Toronto FC286166242245-23 5721516 194729
Real Salt Lake285149243044-14 4641821 1851223

x = Clinched playoff berth
y = Clinched home field for Conf. Champ.

MLS Cup Playoffs: Who Qualifies?

Eight teams will qualify for the playoffs - the top two teams in each conference plus the remaining four teams, regardless of conference, that have the most points in the standings upon the completion of the their 30-game regular season.


Playoff berths will be determined by points in the standings upon the completion of the regular season on Oct. 21; all 13 teams will have played 30 games. If two teams are tied on points, the first tiebreaker is head-to-head results, the second tiebreaker is goal differential, and the third is goals scored for the season. (Subsequent tiebreakers are available in the Fact and Record Book).

The top two teams in each conference qualify and are seeded 1 & 2 in their respective four-team playoff conference brackets.

The four MLS teams with the next most points, regardless of conference, receive �wildcard� berths.

• The four wildcard teams will be seeded according to conference first.

• If more than four teams qualify from one conference, those finishing lower than fourth in their conference will shift over to the other conference bracket.

• A team switching conference brackets will be seeded below all other teams in its new conference playoff bracket.