Today in Golf History
E-mail Print
Most Popular
September 26
1952 - Joseph C. Dey Jr., executive secretary of the U.S. Golf Association since 1934, is named executive director of the association.

1965 - Gay Brewer wins the Seattle Open.

1968 - Dean Refram wins the Robinson Open.

1971 - Labron Harris Jr. wins the Shrine Robinson Golf Classic, defeating Bert Yancey in a playoff.

1976 - J.C. Snead wins the Anheuser-Busch Classic, finishing at 14-under-par 274, two strokes better than Gibby Gilbert and Johnny Miller.

Donna Caponi wins the Golden Lights Championship by a five-stroke margin over Jane Blalock and Judy Rankin.

1982 - Patty Sheehan wins the SAFECO Classic by one stroke over JoAnne Carner.

Gene Littler wins the World Seniors Invitational.

1983 - Patty Sheehan wins the San Diego Inamori Golf Classic by two strokes over Juli Inkster.

1993 - Blaine McCallister edges Denis Watson by one stroke to win the B.C. Open.

The U.S. rallies to win the Ryder Cup Matches, 15-13, at The Belfry in Sutton Coldfield, England. The U.S. wins the singles, 7 1/2 to 4 1/2 to overcome an 8 1/2-7 /12 deficit after two days.

Lee Trevino finishes with a 73, but holds on to a two-stroke victory margin in the Nationwide Championship. George Archer, Dave Stockton, Mike Hill, Rocky Thompson, and Jim Ferree share second place.

Kris Monaghan edges Juli Inkster by one stroke to win the San Diego Inamori Golf Classic.

1999 - In the greatest comeback in Ryder Cup history, the United States rallies from a 10-6 deficit after two days to win the Ryder Cup, 14 1/2 to 13 1/2, at The Country Club in Brookline, Mass. The U.S. captures the final-day singles, 8 1/2 to 3 1/2, capped by Justin Leonard securing a halve against Spain's Jose Maria Olazabal. Leonard sinks a 45-foot birdie putt to win the 17th hole and go 1-up, before Olazabal birdies the 18th to halve the match.

Duffy Waldorf defeats Ted Tryba in a playoff to win the Westin Texas Open.

Gil Morgan finishes at 12-under-par 198 to win the Kroger Senior Classic by two strokes over Ed Dougherty.

Juli Inkster finishes at 9-under-par 207 to win the Safeway LPGA Golf Championship by six strokes over Grace Park and Tina Barrett. The victory qualified Inkster for the LPGA Hall of Fame.


Charles Price, the original editor-in-chief of GOLF MAGAZINE, was born in Philadelphia, Pa., in 1925. He died in 1994.

Neil Coles, European Tour veteran who competed on eight Ryder Cup teams, was born in London, England, in 1934.

Trevor Dodds, winner of the PGA Tour's 1998 Greater Greensboro Chrysler Classic, was born in Windhoek, Southwest Africa (Namibia) in 1959.

Gary Emerson, European Tour member, was born in Bournemouth, England, in 1963.

Powered by:

About Us | Media Kit | GOLF MAGAZINE Customer Service
Copyright (c) 2007 CNN / Sports Illustrated. A Time Warner Company. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. All rights reserved. Read our privacy policy and Terms of Service.