Back to the web ringBack to the web ring

Tangerine Dream

Electronic Meditation

- Studio, released June 1970 -


CD release Europe 1996
Photo: Reinhard Hippen

CD release UK 1987

CD release Europe 2002
Photo: Reinhard Hippen

CD release Japan 2004
Photo: Reinhard Hippen


1.Genesis 5:57
2.Journey Through A Burning Brain 12:32
3.Cold Smoke 10:48
4.Ashes To Ashes 3:58
5.Resurrection 3:21
Total running time36:36


Recording dateOctober 1969
Recording site(s)Mixed Media (Berlin)
Recording engineer(s)Klaus Freudigmann
Composer(s)Edgar Froese, Klaus Schulze, Conrad Schnitzler
Musician(s)Edgar Froese, Klaus Schulze, Conrad Schnitzler, Jimmy Jackson, Thomas Keyserling
Producer(s)Edgar Froese


In autumn/winter of 1969 Edgar Froese, founder of Tangerine Dream, met Klaus Schulze and Conrad Schnitzler. This trio formed the line-up of Tangerine Dream to record the debut album Electronic Meditation. The band was supported by two other musicians: Jimmy Jackson (organ) and Thomas Keyserling (flute), but both were mysteriously left out of the credits of the original album.


Klaus Schulze later remembers: "We recorded and toured Electronic Meditation. That for me is the primary electronic album. Edgar played guitar, Schnitzler organ and me drums through loads of effects. We were experimenting with a lot of random stuff and were making up our own sounds. I remember Conrad had this metal cup full of these bits of glass in which he stuck a microphone attached to each machine. I played a lot of different percussive sounds that were then altered by machines. It was just great to be in a band who were open to so much experimentation."


In 1987 the album was released on CD for the first time. While the USA release featured the reworked original cover artwork, the UK release had a total different cover design, originating from the boxed set In The Beginning. Nine years later, in 1996, the CD was re-released again. For this release the music was digitally remastered from the original tapes, and the cover artwork was very similar to the original LP cover. The CD booklet features sleeve notes taken from the book "Krautrocksampler" by Julian Cope.


In 2004 the album was re-released in Japan with a cardboard sleeve featuring the exact replica of the original lp sleeves, including the balloon insert.


1996: Essential/Castle
1999: Essential/Castle
LP: ESMLP345; picture label/white label
2002: Sanctuary/Castle
CD: CMRCD565; standard jewel case with additional cardboard wrapper
1976: Virgin
LP: 940 530; multicoloured labels, foc
1976: Virgin/Polydor
LP: 2401 722; multicoloured labels, foc
LP: 2401 722; red/silver labels, foc
1981: Virgin
LP: 202 724; red/green labels
1983: Virgin
LP: 70 051; red/green labels
1970: Ohr
LP: OMM 56004; ear labels, foc; some of the first releases come together with a rubber balloon attached to a cut out on the front cover
1971: Ohr
LP: OMM 556004; ear labels, foc
1976: PDU/EMI Italia
LP: PLD A 6072; black/silver labels
2003: Earmark
LP: 42020; 180g vinyl
1971: EMI Odeon/Toshiba
LP: EOP 80618; black/silver labels, foc
LP: EOP 80618; red vinyl, black/silver labels, foc
Promo-LP: EOP 80618; white labels, foc
1976: Virgin/Nippon Columbia
LP: YX-7124-AX; white/gray labels, foc
1978: Virgin/Nippon Columbia
LP: YZ-95-AX; white/gray labels, foc
2004: Arcàngelo
CD: ARC-7045; cardboard sleeve, obi, fold-out poster, rubber balloon insert
New Zealand
1972: Interfusion/Festival
LP: L-35450; brown labels
1987: Jive
1987: Relativity
LP: 88561-8068-1; black labels
CD: 88561-8068-2
1996: Sequel/Castle
CD: 1032-2
1999: Castle
2002: Sanctuary
CD: 06076-81240-2
Electronic Meditation was also released as part of the sets In The Beginning, Three Classic Albums and Nebulous Dawn.

Copyright/Disclaimer   © 2001-2007 by Michael Berling. Last Update: 2007-07-14 11:58