Today in Golf History
E-mail Print
Most Popular
July 1994
September 6
1913 - Jerry Travers becomes the first four-time U.S. Amateur champion by defeating John G. Anderson, 5 and 4, in the final match at Garden City Golf Club.

1971 - George Archer defeats Lou Graham and J.C. Snead in a playoff to win the Greater Hartford Open.

1973 - Gary Player edges Forrest Fezler by one stroke to win the Southern Open.

1981 - Jay Haas finishes at 14-under-par 270 to win the B.C. Open by a three-stroke margin over Tom Kite.

1982 - JoAnne Carner posts a final-round 67 to finish a six-stroke victory over Susie McAllister in the State Farm Rail Classic.

1987 - Joey Sindelar finishes at 18-under-par 266 to win the B.C. Open by four strokes over Jeff Sluman.

Bruce Crampton wins the Vantage Presents Bank One Senior Classic.

1992 - Richard Zokol finishes at 19-under-par 269 to win the Greater Milwaukee Open by two strokes over Dick Mast.

Jamie Spence defeats Anders Forsbrand in a playoff to capture the Canon European Masters.

On the Senior PGA Tour, Gibby Gilbert finishes with a 68 to edge Tommy Aaron, Dick Hendrickson, Dave Stockton, and Harold Henning by one stroke to win the First of America Classic.

1993 - Helen Dobson defeats Dottie Pepper in a playoff to win the State Farm Rail Classic.

1998 - Jeff Sluman edges Steve Stricker by one stroke to win the Greater Milwaukee Open.

Sven Struver defeats Patrik Sjolan in a playoff to win the Canon European Masters. The two finished regulation play at 21-under-par 263.

On the Senior PGA tour, Dana Quigley closes with a 65 to edge Jim Colbert by one stroke to win the Emerald Coast Classic.

Danielle Ammaccapane edges Emilee Klein by one stroke to win the Safeway LPGA Golf Championship.

1999 - Mi Hyun Kim finishes with a 70 to win the State Farm Rail Classic by one stroke over Janice Moodie and Pearl Sinn.


Ed "Porky" Oliver, runner-up in the 1946 PGA Championshiip and 1953 Masters, was born in Wilmington, Del., in 1916. He was disqualified from the 1940 U.S. Open for starting his last round ahead of schedule to beat a coming storm. If his had not been disqualified, he would have been in a playoff with Gene Sarazen and Lawson Little (Little defeated Sarazen). Oliver died in 1961.

Doug Ford, winner of the 1955 PGA Championship and 1957 Masters, was born in West Haven, Conn., in 1922.

Dow Finsterwald, winner of the 1958 PGA Championship (the first PGA played at stroke play), was born in Athens, Ohio, in 1929.

Bob Sommers, former editor of the USGA's magazine, Golf Journal, and author of "The U.S. Open: Golf's Ultimate Challenge," was born in Baltimore, Md., in 1926.

Bill Garrett, a PGA senior club professional who won the 1970 Coral Springs Open while a PGA Tour member from 1964-79, was born in Amarillo, Texas in 1940.

Powered by:

About Us | Media Kit | GOLF MAGAZINE Customer Service
Copyright (c) 2007 CNN / Sports Illustrated. A Time Warner Company. Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. All rights reserved. Read our privacy policy and Terms of Service.