104 Theater Street
Mobile, Alabama 36602
TIMES OF ADMISSION
Tuesday through Saturday
(Adjacent to Fort Conde Welcome Center)
The Conde-Charlotte Museum House stands as an impressive link between the present and Mobile's earliest history. It was built in 1822-24 as the City's first official jail between the south bastions of Fort Conde.
When the Historic Mobile Preservation Society purchased the house in 1940 and began partial restoration, they discovered the outline of 4 small cells (6x8) in the two foot thick brick floor with hand wrought eye bolts still anchored on one. The jail doors were removed when the building became a residence and at least two were used in the kitchen wing the owner added. The exposed jail floor and these jail doors can still be seen in the house.
The history of Mobile is reflected in the furnishings of the restored rooms. fort conde was constructed of brick in the early 1700's by Bienville, the French founder of Mobile. When the English captured the fort in 1763, the name was changed to Fort Charlotte in honor of George III's Queen. Seventeen years later (1780) the Spanish took possession and in 1813 the Americans moved in. It was during this period that Mobile became a city and the old fort was demolished. About ten years before Mobile was part of the confederacy, the old jail property was converted into a residence, known as Kirkbride House.
It is this house that is owned by and has been restored by the National society of Colonial Dames of America in the state of Alabama. It is now a fascinating house museum furnished to depict the periods of mobile's history under five flags.
Each room is furnished to reflect a period and a nationality - French Empire, 18th Century English, American Federal, and the Confederate room is furnished in the fashion of southern parlors at the outbreak of the War Between the States. A walled Spanish garden of late 18th Century design complements the house.
This house is on the National Register of Historic Places.