

States Parties to the 1951 Convention relating to the Status of Refugees and the 1967 Protocol

Date of entry into force: 22 April 1954 (Convention) 4 October 1967 (Protocol)

As of 1 December 2006

Total number of States Parties to the 1951 Convention:	144
Total number of States Parties to the 1967 Protocol:	144
States Parties to both the Convention and Protocol:	141
States Parties to one or both of these instruments:	147

States Parties to the 1951 Convention only:

Madagascar, Monaco, Saint Kitts and Nevis

States Parties to the 1967 Protocol only:

Cape Verde, United States of America, Venezuela

The Convention was adopted by the United Nations Conference of Plenipotentiaries on the Status of Refugees and Stateless Persons, held at Geneva from 2 to 25 July 1951. The Conference was convened pursuant to resolution 429 (V), adopted by the General Assembly of the United Nations on 14 December 1950.

The dates indicated are the dates of deposit of the instrument of ratification or accession by the respective States Parties with the Secretary-General of the United Nations in New York. In accordance with article 43(2), the Convention enters into force on the ninetieth day after the date of deposit. The Protocol enters into force on the date of deposit (article VIII (2)). Exceptions are indicated below.

10 Oct 2006 d

Most recent ratification:

Montenegro

10 OCt 2000 G	10 OCt 2000 u
Convention	Protocol
30 Aug 2005 a	30 Aug 2005 a
18 Aug 1992 a	18 Aug 1992 a
21 Feb 1963 d	08 Nov 1967 a
23 Jun 1981 a	23 Jun 1981 a
07 Sep 1995 a	07 Sep 1995 a
15 Nov 1961 a	06 Dec 1967 a
06 Jul 1993 a	06 Jul 1993 a
22 Jan 1954 a	13 Dec 1973 a
01 Nov 1954 r	05 Sep 1973 a
12 Feb 1993 a	12 Feb 1993 a
	Convention 30 Aug 2005 a 18 Aug 1992 a 21 Feb 1963 d 23 Jun 1981 a 07 Sep 1995 a 15 Nov 1961 a 06 Jul 1993 a 22 Jan 1954 a 01 Nov 1954 r

1

10 Oct 2006 d



Bahamas		1993 a	-	1993 a
Belarus	23 Aug		23 Aug	
Belgium	22 Jul	1953 r	08 Apr	
Belize		1990 a		1990 a
Benin	04 Apr	1962 d	06 Jul	1970 a
Bolivia	09 Feb	1982 a	09 Feb	1982 a
Bosnia and Herzegovina	01 Sep	1993 d	01 Sep	1993 d
Botswana	06 Jan	1969 a	06 Jan	1969 a
Brazil	16 Nov	1960 r	07 Apr	1972 a
Bulgaria	12 May	1993 a	12 May	1993 a
Burkina Faso	18 Jun	1980 a	18 Jun	1980 a
Burundi	19 Jul	1963 a	15 Mar	1971 a
Cambodia	15 Oct	1992 a	15 Oct	1992 a
Cameroon	23 Oct	1961 d	19 Sep	1967 a
Canada	04 Jun	1969 a	04 Jun	1969 a
Cape Verde (P)			09 Jul	1987 a
Central African Republic	04 Sep	1962 d	30 Aug	1967 a
Chad	19 Aug		19 Aug	1981 a
Chile	28 Jan		27 Apr	
China	24 Sep	1982 a	-	1982 a
Colombia	10 Oct		04 Mar	
Congo	15 Oct		10 Jul	1970 a
Congo, Democratic Republic of	19 July		13 Jan	1975 a
Costa Rica	28 Mar		28 Mar	
Côte d'Ivoire	08 Dec		16 Feb	
Croatia		1992 d	12 Oct	
Cyprus	16 May		09 Jul	1968 a
Czech Republic	11 May		11 May	
Denmark	04 Dec		29 Jan	1968 a
Djibouti	09 Aug		09 Aug	
Dominica	_	1994 a	_	1977 d
Dominica Republic	04 Jan	1978 a	04 Jan	1978 a
Ecuador Ecuador	17 Aug		04 Jan 06 Mar	
	22 May		22 May	
Egypt El Salvador	28 Apr		28 Apr	
	-	1985 a 1986 a	-	1985 a
Equatorial Guinea Estonia				
	10 Apr		10 Apr	
Ethiopia	10 Nov		10.Nov	
Fiji		1972 d		1972 d
Finland	10 Oct		10 Oct	
France		1954 r	03 Feb	
Gabon	27 Apr		28 Aug	
Gambia	07 Sep		29 Sep	
Georgia	09 Aug		09 Aug	
Germany	01 Dec		05 Nov	
Ghana	18 Mar		30 Aug	
Greece	05 Apr		07 Aug	
Guatemala	22 Sep		22 Sep	
Guinea	28 Dec	1965 d	16 May	1968 a



Guinea-Bissau		1976 a		1976 a
Haiti	25 Sep		25 Sep	
Holy See	15 Mar			1967 a
Honduras	23 Mar		23 Mar	
Hungary	14 Mar		14 Mar	
Iceland	30 Nov		26 Apr	
Iran, Islamic Republic of	28 Jul	1976 a	28 Jul	1976 a
Ireland	29 Nov		06 Nov	
Israel	01 Oct			1968 a
Italy	15 Nov	1954 r	26 Jan	1972 a
Jamaica	30 Jul	1964 d	30 Oct	1980 a
Japan	03 Oct	1981 a	01 Jan	1982 a
Kazakhstan	15 Jan	1999 a	15 Jan	1999 a
Kenya	16 May	1966 a	13 Nov	1981 a
Kyrgyzstan	08 Oct	1996 a	08 Oct	1996 a
Korea, Republic of	03 Dec	1992 a	03 Dec	1992 a
Latvia	31 Jul	1997 a	31 Jul	1997 a
Lesotho	14 May	1981 a	14 May	1981 a
Liberia	15 Oct	1964 a	27 Feb	
Liechtenstein	08 Mar	1957 r	20 May	1968 a
Lithuania	28 Apr	1997 a	28 Apr	
Luxembourg	23 Jul	1953 r	22 Apr	
Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of	18 Jan	1994 d	18 Jan	1994 d
Madagascar (C)		1967 a		
Malawi	10 Dec		10 Dec	1987 a
Mali		1973 d		1973 a
Malta	17 Jun	1971 a	15 Sep	1971 a
Mauritania	05 May		05 May	
Mexico	07 June		07 June	
Moldova, Republic of	31 Jan	2000 a 2002 a	31 Jan	
Monaco (C)	18 May		J1 Jan	2002 a
Morocco	07 Nov		20 Apr	1071 0
			20 Apr	
Mozambique	16 Dec		01 May	
Namibia Natharlanda		1995 a	17 Feb	
Netherlands	03 May		29 Nov	
New Zealand	30 Jun		06 Aug	
Nicaragua	28 Mar		28 Mar	
Niger	25 Aug			1970 a
Nigeria	23 Oct		02 May	
Norway	23 Mar		28 Nov	
Panama	02 Aug		02 Aug	
Papua New Guinea	17 Jul	1986 a	17 Jul	
Paraguay	01 Apr		01 Apr	
Peru	21 Dec		15 Sep	
Philippines	22 Jul	1981 a	22 Jul	1981 a
Poland	27 Sep		27 Sep	1991 a
Portugal	22 Dec	1960 a	13 Jul	1976 a
Romania	07 Aug	1991 a	07 Aug	
Russian Federation	02 Feb	1993 a	02 Feb	1993 a



Rwanda	03 Jan	1980 a	03 Jan	1980 a
Saint Kitts and Nevis (C)	01 Feb	2002 a		
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines	03 Nov	1993 a	03 Nov	2003 a
Samoa	21 Sep	1988 a	29 Nov	1994 a
Sao Tome and Principe	01 Feb	1978 a	01 Feb	1978 a
Senegal	02 May	1963 d	03 Oct	1967 a
Serbia	12 Mar	2001 d	12 Mar	2001 d
Seychelles	23 Apr	1980 a	23 Apr	1980 a
Sierra Leone	22 May	1981 a	22 May	1981 a
Slovakia	04 Feb	1993 d	04 Feb	1993 d
Slovenia	06 Jul	1992 d	06 Jul	1992 d
Solomon Islands	28 Feb	1995 a	12 Apr	1995 a
Somalia	10 Oct	1978 a	10 Oct	1978 a
South Africa	12 Jan	1996 a	12 Jan	1996 a
Spain	14 Aug	1978 a	14 Aug	1978 a
Sudan	22 Feb	1974 a	23 May	
Suriname	29 Nov	1978 d	29 Nov	
Swaziland	14 Feb	2000 a	28 Jan	1969 a
Sweden	26 Oct	1954 r	04 Oct	1967 a
Switzerland	21 Jan	1955 r	20 May	1968 a
Tajikistan	07 Dec	1993 a	07 Dec	1993 a
Tanzania, United Republic of	12 May	1964 a	04 Sep	1968 a
Timor-Leste	07 May		07 May	
Togo	27 Feb	1962 d	01 Dec	1969 a
Trinidad and Tobago	10 Nov	2000 a	10 Nov	2000 a
Tunisia	24 Oct	1957 d	16 Oct	1968 a
Turkey	30 Mar	1962 r	31 Jul	1968 a
Turkmenistan	02 Mar	1998 a	2 Mar	1998 a
Tuvalu	07 Mar	1986 d	07 Mar	1986 d
Uganda	27 Sep	1976 a	27 Sep	1976 a
Ukraine	10 Jun	2002 a	04 Apr	2002 a
United Kingdom of Great Britain and			•	
Northern Ireland	11 Mar	1954 r	04 Sep	1968 a
United States of America (P)			01 Nov	1968 a
Uruguay	22 Sep	1970 a	22 Sep	1970 a
Venezuela (P)	1		19 Sep	1986 a
Yemen	18 Jan	1980 a	18 Jan	1980 a
Zambia	24 Sep	1969 d	24 Sep	1969 a
Zimbabwe	25 Aug		25 Aug	
	8		0	

Limitations:

Article 1 B(1) of the 1951 Convention provides: "For the purposes of this Convention, the words 'events occurring before 1 January 1951' in article 1, Section A, shall be understood to mean either (a) 'events occurring in Europe before 1 January 1951'; or (b) 'events occurring in Europe or elsewhere before 1 January 1951', and each Contracting State shall make a declaration at the time of signature, ratification or accession, specifying which of these meanings it applies for the purposes of its obligations under this Convention."



The following States adopted alternative (a), the geographical limitation: Congo, Madagascar, Monaco and Turkey. Turkey expressly maintained its declaration of geographical limitation upon acceding to the 1967 Protocol. Madagascar and Monaco have not yet adhered to the Protocol.

All other States Parties ratified, acceded or succeeded to the Convention without a geographical limitation by selecting option (b), 'events occurring in Europe or elsewhere before 1 January 1951'.

Notes:

* Ratification (r), Accession (a), Succession (d).

⁽C) denotes States Parties to the 1951 Convention only; (P) denotes States Parties to the 1967 Protocol only.

^{***} As of 4 February 2003, following the adoption and promulgation of the Constitutional Charter of Serbia and Montenegro by the Assembly of the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, the official name of "The Federal Republic of Yugoslavia" has been changed to "Serbia and Montenegro".