Player of the Year - Four Broncos Memorial Trophy

Created: Jun 10, 2004

The most prestigious individual award of the Western Hockey League has been named the Four Broncos Memorial Trophy in memory of the four members of the Swift Current Broncos who died in a tragic accident on December 30, 1986.

The four players, Trent Kresse, Scott Kruger, Chris Mantyka and Brent Ruff all died when the Swift Current bus crashed while enroute to a game in Regina.

"In order that we never forget this incident, we have named this trophy in memory of these four young men," stated Ed Chynoweth.

"Like hundreds of other players before them, and hundreds that will follow, WHL players spend countless hours riding the bus in pursuing their hockey aspirations. By naming the Most Valuable Player Trophy in honor of these four players, hopefully we will never forget the sacrifice given by these young men."

Up to 1993-94, this trophy was awarded to the Most Valuable Player in the WHL. As of 1994-95, the WHL Player of the Year receives this trophy.

Player of the Year Winners

2006-07 Kris Russell, Medicine Hat
2005-06 Justin Pogge, Calgary
2004-05 Eric Fehr, Brandon
2003-04 Cam Ward, Red Deer
2002-03 Josh Harding, Regina
2001-02 Dan Hamhuis, Prince George
2000-01 Justin Mapletoft, Red Deer
1999-00 Brad Moran, Calgary
1998-99 Cody Rudkowsky, Seattle
1997-98 Sergei Varlamov, Swift Current*
1996-97 Peter Schaefer, Brandon
1995-96 Jarome Iginla, Kamloops
1994-95 Marty Murray, Brandon
1993-94 Sonny Mignacca, Medicine Hat
1992-93 Jason Krywulak, Swift Current
1991-92 Steve Konowalchuk, Portland
1990-91 Ray Whitney, Spokane
1989-90 Glen Goodall, Seattle
1988-89 Stu Barnes, Tri-City
1987-88 Joe Sakic, Swift Current
1986-87 West - Rob Brown, Kamloops
East - Joe Sakic, Swift Current
1985-86 West - Rob Brown, Kamloops
East - Emanuel Viveiros, Prince Albert
1984-85 Cliff Ronning, New Westminster
1983-84 Ray Ferraro, Brandon
1982-83 Mike Vernon, Calgary
1981-82 Mike Vernon, Calgary
1980-81 Steve Tsujiura, Medicine Hat
1979-80 Doug Wickenheiser, Regina
1978-79 Perry Turnbull, Portland
1977-78 Ryan Walter, Seattle
1976-77 Barry Beck, New Westminster
1975-76 Bernie Federko, Saskatoon
1974-75 Bryan Trottier, Lethbridge
1973-74 Ron Chipperfield, Brandon
1982-73 Dennis Sobchuk, Regina
1971-72 John Davidson, Calgary
1970-71 Ed Dyck, Calgary
1969-70 Reg Leach, Flin Flon
1968-69 Bobby Clarke, Flin Flon
1967-68 Jim Harrison, Estevan
1966-67 Gerry Pinder, Saskatoon

* Also selected as the CHL Player of the Year.

Links: League Directory | Contact Us | Privacy Policy
© 2006 Western Hockey League. All rights reserved.