All Results

Winners Index

Club History


Final Details

 1970 Chelsea
 1971 Arsenal
 1972 Leeds United
 1973 Sunderland
 1974 Liverpool
 1975 West Ham United
 1976 Southampton
 1977 Manchester Utd
 1978 Ipswich Town
 1979 Arsenal

Click here to buy Outdoor brands online






Wembley - Saturday 5th May


Sunderland 1 Leeds United 0




Montgomerie, Malone, Guthrie, Horswill, Watson, Pitt, Kerr, Hughes, Halom, Porterfield, Tueart

Leeds United

Harvery, Reaney, Cherry, Bremner Madeley, Hunter, Lorimer, Clarke, Jones, Giles, Gray E

Referee: K Burns

Attendance: 100,000


Leeds United, a team boasting ten internationals, and experienced in the conflicts of First Division and European competition, came to Wembley in 1973 as Cup‑holders for their third Final in four years. Sunderland came from the Second Division, and when their new manager Bob Stokoe took over during the season, they were third from bottom. No Second Division side had won the Cup for more than forty years, and very few people outside Sunderland gave them any chance of winning.


Leeds had their chances, and might have been ahead before Porter‑field scored the goal that won the Cup for Sunderland, on the half‑hour from H Hughes’s corner. As one would have expected, Leeds fought back with a determined assault just before half‑time and with increasingly desperate power through the second half.


The turning point of the match came in the seventieth minute, when Sunderland goalkeeper Jim Montgomery dived to palm away a header across goal from Cherry ‑ straight into the path of Lorimer, one of the most powerful and accurate shots in the game. Lorimer blasted the ball goalwards, but Montgomery, miraculously, managed to divert the ball on to the underside of the bar. It bounced clear.


There were more anxious moments for Sunderland, but they held out. More than that, Halom almost made it 2‑0 in the last seconds, forcing a brilliant save from Harvey.

View The Cup Final Programme - Click Here

(Large Image Files - Not Recommended For Low Speed Connections)

Round By Round


SUNDERLAND v Arsenal 2‑ 1; Wolves v LEEDS UTD 0‑1


Sixth Round

SUNDERLAND v Luton T 2‑0; Chelsea v Arsenal 2‑2,1‑2; Wolves v Coventry C 2‑0; Derby Co v LEEDS UTD 0‑1


Fifth Round

Man C v SUNDERLAND 2‑2,1‑3, Bolton Wand v Luton T 0‑1; Sheff Wed v Chelsea 1‑2; Carlisle Utd v Arsenal 1‑2, Wolves v Millwall 1 ‑0; Coventry C v Hull C 3‑0, Derby Co v QPR 4‑2; LEEDS UTD v WBA 2‑0


Fourth Round

SUNDERLAND v Reading 1‑1, 3‑1; Liverpool v Man C 0‑0, 0‑2; Bolton Wand v Cardiff C 2‑2, 1 ‑1, 1 ‑0; Newcastle Utd v Luton T 0‑2, Sheff Wed v Crystal Palace 1‑1, 1‑1, 3‑2; Chelsea v Ipswich T 2‑0; Carlisle Utd v Sheff Utd 2‑1, Arsenal v Bradford C 2‑0; Wolves v Bristol C 1 ‑0; Everton v Millwall 0‑2; Coventry C v Grimsby T 1 ‑0; Hull C v W. Ham 1 ‑0; Derby Co v Spurs 1‑1, 5‑3; Oxford Utd v OPR 0‑2; WBA v Swindon T 2‑0; LEEDS UTD v Plymouth Arg 2‑1


Third Round

 Notts Co v SUNDERLAND 1‑1, 0‑2, Reading v Doncaster R 2‑0, Burnley v Liverpool 0‑0, 0‑3; Man C v Stoke C 3‑2; Charlton Ath v Bolton Wand 1‑1, 0‑4; Scunthorpe Utd v Cardiff C 2‑3; Newcastle Utd v AFC Bournemouth 2‑0; Luton T v Crewe Alex 2‑0; Sheff Wed v Fulharn 2‑0; Crystal Palace v Southampton 2‑0; Brighton & H Alb v Chelsea 0‑2; Chelmsford C v Ipswich T 1‑21; Carlisle Utd v Huddersfield T 2‑2, 1‑0; Watford v Sheff Utd 0‑ 1; Arsenal v Leicester C 2‑2, 2‑1; Bradford C v Blackpool 2‑ 1; Wolves v Man Utd 1 ‑0; Portsmouth v Bristol C 1‑ 1, 1‑4; Everton v Aston Villa 3‑2;  Millwall v Newport Co 3‑0; Orient v Coventry C 1‑4; Grimsby T v PNE 0‑0, 1 ‑0; Stockport Co v Hull C 0‑0, 0‑2; Port Vale vW. Ham 0‑1; Peterborough Utd v Derby Co 0‑1; Margate v Spurs 0‑6; York C v Oxford Utd 0‑1; QPR v Barnet 0‑0, 3‑0; WBA v Nott'm Forest 1‑1, 0‑0, 3‑1; Swindon T v Birmingham C 2‑0; Plymouth Arg v Middlesbro 1 ‑0; Norwich C v LEEDS UTD 1‑1, 1‑1, 0‑5


FA  Cup Winners
11 Manchester Utd 
10 Arsenal
8 Tottenham Hotspur
7 Aston Villa
7 Liverpool
6 Blackburn Rovers
6 Newcastle United
5 Everton
5 The Wanderers
5 W. B .A
Bolton Wanderers
4 Manchester City
4 Sheffield United
4 Wolverhampton Wanderers
4 Chelsea
3 Sheffield Wednesday
3 West Ham United
2 Bury
2 Nottingham Forest
2 Old Etonians
2 Preston North End
2 Sunderland
1 Barnsley
1 Blackburn Olympic
1 Blackpool
1 Bradford City
1 Burnley
1 Cardiff City
1 Charlton Athletic
1 Clapham Rovers
1 Coventry City
1 Derby County
1 Huddersfield Town
1 Ipswich Town
1 Leeds United
1 Notts County
1 Old Carthusians
1 Oxford University
1 Portsmouth
1 Royal Engineers
1 Southampton