INDIANAPOLIS 500 LEADERS LATE IN THE RACE WHO FAILED TO WIN

YEAR	<u>DRIVER</u>	LAP#	PROBLEM
1912	Ralph DePalma	198	Engine Trouble
1920	Ralph DePalma	186	Engine Trouble
1924	Earl Cooper	176	Finished Second
1925	Dave Lewis	173	Finished Second
1928	Tony Gulotta	181	Finished Tenth
1934	Mauri Rose	174	Finished Second
1939	Louis Meyer	182	Crashed on Lap 197
1947	Bill Holland	192	E-Z Board
1952	Bill Vukovich	191	Steering Failure
1960	Rodger Ward	196	Bad Rear Tire
1961	Eddie Sachs	197	Pit Stop for Tire
1966	Jackie Stewart	190	No Oil Pressure
1967	Parnelli Jones	196	Bearing Failure
1968	Joe Leonard	191	Fuel Drive Failure
1972	Jerry Grant	187	Pit Stop for Fuel
1975	Wally Dallenbach	161	Burned Piston (Rain-174)
1977	Gordon Johncock	184	Broken Crankshaft
1978	Tom Sneva	180	Pit Stop for Fuel
1979	Bobby Unser	181	Lost 4th Gear
1981	Gordon Johncock	181	Fuel Pump
1983	Al Unser	190	Finished Second
1986	Kevin Cogan	197	Passed on Restart - Finished Second
1987	Roberto Guerrero	182	Stalled Engine - Finished Second
1989	Al Unser, Jr.	198	Crashed Turn 3 - Finished Second
1991	Michael Andretti	187	Passed Outside Turn 1 By Rick Mears
1992	Michael Andretti	189	Fuel Pump Failure
1993	Nigel Mansell	184	Lost Lead on Restart
1994	Emerson Fittipaldi	184	Hit Wall - Turn 4
1995	Scott Goodyear	195	Passed Pace Car on Restart (Lap 190)
1996	Davy Jones	192	Passed on Front Stretch by Buddy Lazier
1997	Scott Goodyear	194	Passed by Arie Luyendyk on backstraight
1999	Robby Gordon	199	Pitted for Fuel; Passed in Turn 4 by Kenny
			Brack
2004	Adrian Fernandez	171	Pitted for fuel; yellow come out for rain on
			lap174 and race is stopped on lap 180.
2005	Danica Patrick	193	Passed by Dan Wheldon in 1 st turn of lap 194
2006	Marco Andretti	199	Passed on front stretch just before the finish line
Updated 10/05			lostlead.doc

and checkered flag by Sam Hornish Jr.

Updated 10/05 lostlead.doc