Login | Member Center | Contact Us | Site Map | Alerts | Subscribe to the paper | DailyCamera.com


CU's Wheatley on preseason Thorpe watch list

Colorado senior cornerback Terrence Wheatley was named to this year's Jim Thorpe Award preseason watch list on Thursday.

Wheatley was one of 35 college football players on the list and he will try to become the third Buffalo to earn the award.

Former Buffs Deon Figures in 1992 and Chris Hudson in 1994 earned the Jim Thorpe Award.

The Thorpe Award is presented annually to the nation's best college defensive back.

Jim Thorpe watch list

Jamar Adams, Sr., Michigan; Josh Barrett -Sr., Arizona State; Zackary Bowman, Sr., Nebraska; Tony Carter, Jr., Florida State; Antoine Cason, Sr., Arizona; Simeon Castille, Sr., Alabama; Quintin Demps, Sr., UTEP; Brandon Flowers, Jr., Virginia Tech; Courtney Greene -Jr., Rutgers; Michael Hamlin, Jr., Clemson; Nic Harris, Jr., Oklahoma; Victor Harris, Jr -Virginia Tech; Jonathan Hefney, Sr., Tennessee; Chris Horton, Sr., UCLA; Malcolm Jenkins, Jr., Ohio State; Tyrell Johnson, Sr., Arkansas State; Dennis Keyes -Sr., UCLA; Justin King, Jr., Penn State; Jamal Lewis, Sr., Georgia Tech; Dwight Lowery, Sr., San Jose State; Taylor Mays, So., USC; Mike Mickens, Jr., Cincinnati; Paul Oliver, Sr., Georgia; Derek Pegues, Jr., Mississippi State; Kenny Phillips, Jr. -Miami FL; Myron Rolle, So., Florida State; Reggie Smith, Jr., Oklahoma; Marty Tadman, Sr., Boise State; Aqib Talib, Jr., Kansas; Terrell Thomas, Sr., USC; DeJuan Tribble, Sr., Boston College; Eric Wicks, Sr., West Virginia; Terrence Wheatley, Sr., Colorado; Trae Williams, Sr., South Florida; Tom Zbikowski, Sr., Notre Dame.

Broncos sign Harris

ENGLEWOOD — The Denver Broncos signed third-round pick Ryan Harris to a four-year deal Thursday.

The team also released safety Sam Brandon after he failed his physical. Brandon was recovering from a torn right anterior cruciate ligament, an injury sustained against Pittsburgh on Nov. 11 that forced him to miss the rest of the season.

Harris, an offensive tackle, was the 70th overall pick in April. A four-year starter at Notre Dame, the 6-foot-5, 292-pound Harris started his final 37 games at left tackle after switching over from right tackle, a position he played as a freshman.

Marcus Thomas, the Broncos' fourth-round pick, agreed to terms July 11. Denver has only two unsigned members of its rookie draft class — Texas defensive end Tim Crowder and Florida defensive lineman Jarvis Moss.


DENVER — The Colorado Mammoth released its protected player list, designating the 14 players who will not be eligible for the National Lacrosse League Expansion Draft.

Among the Mammoth's protected players are forwards Gavin Prout and Dan Carey, transition player Josh Sims, defensemen Tom Ethington and John Gallant, and goaltender Gee Nash.

The Expansion Draft on July 31 will mark the Boston expansion club's first major step in building the team's inaugural season roster.

Protected list

F Dan Carey; F Gavin Prout; F Jamie Shewchuk; F Matt Taylor; T Jason Bloom; T Nick Carlson; T Nenad Gajic; T Jim Moss; T Josh Sims; D Rich Catton; D Tom Ethington; D John Gallant; D Matt Leveque; G Gee Nash.

Post a comment
(Requires free registration.)

Comments are the sole responsibility of the person posting them. You agree not to post comments that are off topic, defamatory, obscene, abusive, threatening or an invasion of privacy. Violators may be banned. Click here for our full user agreement.


(Forgotten your password?)

Your Turn: