Oklahoma Sooners


Jermaine Gresham

Gresham Makes Mackey Semis

Sooner tight end being considered among elite

Nov. 19, 2007

NORMAN, Okla. - Oklahoma tight end Jermaine Gresham has been named one of eight semifinalists for the John Mackey Award. The honor is presented annually by the The Nassau County Sports Commission (NCSC) to the nation's top college tight end.

Gresham, a sophomore from Ardmore, Okla., has enjoyed a breakout season. He ranks No. 3 on Oklahoma's team with 31 receptions. Those catches have gone for 426 yards and 10 touchdowns, the most TDs ever scored in one season by a Sooner tight end.

Other semifinalists include Gary Barnidge (SR, Louisville), Travis Beckum (JR, Wisconsin), Chase Coffman (JR, Missouri), Fred Davis (SR, USC), Jermaine Gresham (SO, Oklahoma), Darius Hill (JR, Ball State), Dustin Keller (SR, Purdue) and Martin Rucker (SR, Missouri).

The eight semifinalists were determined by confidential balloting of the John Mackey Selection Committee. The 2007 recipient of "The Mackey" will be announced on Dec. 6, 2007, at the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show live on ESPN and presented at the Nassau County Sports Commission Annual Awards Dinner on April 28, 2008.

The John Mackey Award is given to the collegiate tight end who best exemplifies the play, sportsmanship, academics and community values of NFL Hall of Fame tight end John Mackey.

The Nassau County Sports Commission is a non-profit, 501(c)(3) organization that promotes sports and healthy lifestyle for Nassau County residents and is responsible for the administration of the John Mackey Award and the John Mackey Award Selection Committee.

For additional information, please visit www.johnmackeyaward.org or www.nassausports.org.

Oklahoma All-Access - Launch Broadband Channel
View more videos