Principal Officers

The principal officers assist with the governance of the University. The Visitor to the University is the Lord Chancellor. The remaining principal officers, listed below, comprise both members of the University staff and non-University officers appointed by the University's statutory bodies.

The Rt Hon Lord Patten of Barnes CH

Chancellor
The Rt Hon Lord Patten of Barnes CH
Brief biography

Professor Chris Brink

Vice-Chancellor
Professor Chris Brink
Email: chris.brink@ncl.ac.uk
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 222 6064
Biography

Professor John Goddard

Deputy Vice-Chancellor
Professor John Goddard
Email: john.goddard@ncl.ac.uk
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 222 7689
Brief biography

Professor Ella Ritchie

Pro-Vice-Chancellor
(Teaching and Learning)
Professor Ella Ritchie
Email: ella.ritchie@ncl.ac.uk
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 222 5060

Professor Trevor Page

Pro-Vice-Chancellor
(External Affairs and Research Liaison)
Professor Trevor Page
Email: pvc-research@ncl.ac.uk
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 222 7701
Brief biography

Professor A Stevenson

Pro-Vice-Chancellor
(Planning and Resources)
Professor A Stevenson
Email: tony.stevenson@ncl.ac.uk
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 222 7600
Staff profile

Professor G J Docherty

Acting Pro-Vice-Chancellor
(Humanities and Social Sciences)
Professor G J Docherty
Email: g.j.docherty@ncl.ac.uk
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 222 8526
Staff profile

Professor O F W James

Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Medical Sciences)
Professor O F W James
Email: o.f.w.james@ncl.ac.uk
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 222 8226
Staff profile

Professor O R Hinton

Pro-Vice-Chancellor
(Science, Agriculture and Engineering)
Professor O R Hinton
Email: oliver.hinton@ncl.ac.uk
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 222 7336
Staff profile

Dr John Hogan

Registrar
Dr John Hogan
Email: john.hogan@ncl.ac.uk
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 222 6078
Brief biography

Olivia Grant OBE DL

Pro-Chancellor and Chairman of Council
Olivia Grant OBE DL
Brief biography

 

Honorary Treasurer
Peter Johnson

Howard Farnhill

Bursar
Howard Farnhill
Email: h.b.farnhill@ncl.ac.uk
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 222 6303
Brief biography

Professor Paul Younger

Public Orator
Professor Paul Younger
Email: paul.younger@ncl.ac.uk
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 246 4868
Brief biography
Staff profile

Dr Eric Cross

Dean of Cultural Affairs
Dr Eric Cross
Email: eric.cross@ncl.ac.uk
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 222 6536
Brief biography
Staff profile