News-header

Sleater-Kinney Say Goodbye

Sleater-Kinney

America's greatest rock band (yeah, I said it) have called it quits. Sleater-Kinney announced the sad news today with the following statement:

"After eleven years as a band, Sleater-Kinney have decided to go on indefinite hiatus.

The upcoming summer shows will be our last. As of now, there are no plans for future tours or recordings. We feel lucky to have had the support of many wonderful people over the years. We want to thank everyone who has worked with us, written kind words about us, performed with us, and inspired us.

But mostly we want to extend our gratitude to our amazing fans. You have been a part of our story from the beginning. We could not have made our music without your enthusiasm, passion, and loyalty. It is you who have made the entire journey worthwhile."

Of course, we hope that Sleater-Kinney's definition of "hiatus" is closer to Jay-Z's than, say, My Bloody Valentine's, but we wouldn't bet on it.

Here's Sleater-Kinney's final tour schedule.  UPDATE: THEIR LAST SHOW IS NOT AT LOLLAPALOOZA. A SHOW AT THE CRYSTAL BALLROOM IN THE BAND'S HOMETOWN OF PORTLAND, OREGON ON AUGUST 11 HAS BEEN ADDED.

07-29 Louisville, KY - Mellwood Arts Center
07-31 Philadelphia, PA - Starlight Ballroom
08-01 Washington, DC - 9:30 Club
08-02 New York, NY - Webster Hall
08-04 Chicago, IL - Grant Park (Lollapalooza)
08-11 Portland, OR - Crystal Ballroom 

So goodbye, Sleater-Kinney. Thank you for everything, from "I Wanna Be Your Joey Ramone" to "Modern Girl". Thank you for being an inspiration to women everywhere. No, fuck that-- to people everywhere.

You will be missed.

File-icon Wed: 11-28-07: 11:14 AM CST
Black Lips Announce Huge 2008 Tour

File-icon Wed: 11-28-07: 07:00 AM CST
Jens Lekman, A Place to Bury Strangers Join P4K ATP

File-icon Tue: 11-27-07: 04:55 PM CST
New My Bloody Valentine Album: Not Digital-Only

File-icon Tue: 11-27-07: 03:15 PM CST
Interpol Live, Remix EPs Available Right Now

File-icon Tue: 11-27-07: 02:20 PM CST
Radiohead Announce First 2008 Dates

File-icon-gray Today's Other Headlines
Horizontal-dotbar

Browse


Horizontal-dotbar News-rss-feed
Horizontal-dotbar-fw
Horizontal-dotbar-fw
Horizontal-dotbar-fw
Horizontal-dotbar-fw
Other-recent-news
File-icon-gray Tue: 11-27-07 File-icon-gray Mon: 11-26-07 File-icon-gray Wed: 11-21-07 File-icon-gray Tue: 11-20-07 File-icon-gray Mon: 11-19-07 File-icon-gray Fri: 11-16-07 File-icon-gray Thu: 11-15-07 File-icon-gray Wed: 11-14-07 File-icon-gray Tue: 11-13-07 File-icon-gray Mon: 11-12-07 File-icon-gray Fri: 11-09-07 File-icon-gray Thu: 11-08-07 File-icon-gray Wed: 11-07-07 File-icon-gray Tue: 11-06-07 File-icon-gray Mon: 11-05-07 File-icon-gray Fri: 11-02-07 File-icon-gray Thu: 11-01-07 File-icon-gray Wed: 10-31-07 File-icon-gray Tue: 10-30-07 File-icon-gray Mon: 10-29-07