©AMPAS® Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
Home Academy Awards Events Press Site Map/Search
Press Area  

June 24, 2005
CONTACT: John Pavlik - (310) 247-3000

Academy Invites 112 to Membership

Beverly Hills, CA — The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has extended membership invitations to 112 artists and executives who have distinguished themselves in the field of theatrical motion pictures. The group will be the only new voting members invited to join the organization in 2005.

“Our decision to slow the growth of the Academy, and to become even more selective in our membership process, is working,” said Academy President Frank Pierson. "The branch membership committees understand what the Academy is trying to do and have begun searching for the top exemplars in their respective areas, presenting to the board only their most impressive candidates."

The membership procedures instituted last year allow the organization to grow — after filling vacancies resulting from deaths and members opting for retired (non-voting) status — by a maximum of thirty new members annually. Pierson said that even if all the 2005 invitees accept their invitations, the Academy's number of voting members will actually shrink slightly compared to the roster of voting members at the same time period in 2004. "We're in the early stages of a slow but deliberate refining process, " he said.

Candidates for Academy membership are normally proposed by members and then considered by committees made up of prominent representatives of each of the organization’s fourteen branches — art directors, executives, film editors, etc. In addition, individuals nominated for Academy Awards, if not already members of the organization, are automatically considered by the appropriate committees, though not necessarily invited to membership.

Though the great majority of AMPAS members are based in the U.S., membership is open to qualified filmmakers around the world. The Academy roster currently includes theatrical motion picture makers from 36 countries.

New members will be welcomed into the organization at an invitation-only reception on Wednesday, September 21, at the Academy's Fairbanks Center for Motion Picture Study in Beverly Hills.

The 2005 invitees, listed by membership subcategories where appropriate rather than by branch, are:







Gael Garcia Bernal


Ian Bryce

Thomas Haden Church


Fred Chandler

Jennifer Coolidge


Charles Newirth

Will Ferrell



Jamie Foxx



Paul Giamatti



Catalina Sandino Moreno


Curtis Clark

Sophie Okonedo


Jim Denault

Clive Owen


Robert Fraisse

Charlotte Rampling


Dick Pope

Jean Reno


Tami Reiker

Stellan Skarsgard


Lisa Rinzler

Imelda Staunton


Jerzy Zielinski

Mykelti Williamson



Ziyi Zhang









Andrew Adamson


Alejandro Amenábar

Kathy Altieri


Marc Forster

Signe Baumane


Oliver Hirschbiegel

Baker Bloodworth


Andy Tennant

John Hughes


Joel Zwick

Scott F. Johnston



Chris Landreth



Tim Miller









Nick Broomfield


Bruno Coulais

Peter Davis


Jan A.P. Kaczmarek

Kirby Dick


Mark Mothersbaugh

Kathleen Glynn


Edward Shearmur

Robert Greenwald



Stacy Peralta





Avi Arad



Elizabeth Avellán

Paul G. Allen


Ross Katz

Doug Belgrad


Michael London

Robert Berney


Scott Mosier

Ann Daly


Denise Robert

Daniel Ferleger



Camela Galano


Production Designers

Brad Grey


John Dexter

Steven Jobs


Jim Dultz

Michael Lynton


Andrew McRae Hennah

Kevin McCormick


Gemma Jackson

Bruce Tobey


Anthony Pratt

Matt Tolmach





Public Relations

Film Editors


Breena Camden

Jim Miller


Laura Carrillo

Julie Monroe


Susan J. Kroll

Debra Neil-Fisher


Michael Moses

Nancy Richardson


Dennis Rice

Kevin Tent


Steven Mark Siskind




Live Action Short Films


Scientific and Technical

Andrea Arnold


Glenn Kennel

Andrew J. Sacks



Nacho Vigalondo





Set Decorators



John Bush

John Blake


Jim Erickson

J. Roy Helland


Debra Schutt







David Arnold



Steve Cantamessa



Andrew Koyama



Hugh Waddell



Michael Wilhoit



David Mark Young






Visual Effects



Joseph B. Bauer



Nicholas Brooks



Blair Clark



Mark Forker



Robert Grasmere



Matthew R. Gratzner



Roger John Guyett



Christophe Hery



David S. Williams, Jr.









Paul Haggis



David Magee



Keir Pearson



Jose Rivera



David N. Weiss



Mike White





# # #
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
8949 Wilshire Boulevard Beverly Hills, CA 90211-1972
(310) 247-3000


© Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences