News-header

Black Lips, Deerhunter, Mastodon to Appear in ATL Doc

Some twenty odd years ago, movie producer Bill Cody helmed Athens, Ga.: Inside/Out, a film detailing the vibrant music scene emerging from the Georgian college town in the mid-1980s. Cody, alongside music historian/documentarian Chris Dortch II and Silver Jew producer Matt Robinson, has begun crafting a modern day companion piece to Inside/Out entitled We Fun: Atlanta, Ga.: Inside/Out.

If the title didn't clue you in, the focus this time around has been shifted from Athens to Atlanta's exploding rock'n'roll underground. Deerhunter, Black Lips, members of Mastodon, and adopted Atlantans King Khan & BBQ Show all make appearances, as should a good chunk of the rest of the ATL crowd. The film is still very much in production, with plans to shoot tomorrow night's (November 30) Deerhunter/Black Lips show in Atlanta. Interested parties can check out the project's MySpace for clips, including a slightly pickled-looking Jared Swilley of Black Lips (pictured above) explaining the title. And in case you'd like to help this thing along, you can donate to the cause via Paypal through the project's MySpace as well.

Of course, this isn't the only ATL scene flick on tap, nor the only Black Lips screen project in the works, nor the only meet-up between Black Lips and King Khan & BBQ Show. Creative bunch, that Atlanta crew... somebody should make a movie about 'em!

File-icon Fri: 11-30-07: 04:45 PM CST
Lupe Fiasco Talks The Cool, Cheeseburgers, Retirement

File-icon Fri: 11-30-07: 02:20 PM CST
Klaxons Go Crazy for France on Latest Single

File-icon Fri: 11-30-07: 01:26 PM CST
The Mars Volta Reveal Dates, Puzzling Download

File-icon Fri: 11-30-07: 12:15 PM CST
Jackson Reissues Thriller With Kanye, will.i.am, Akon

File-icon Fri: 11-30-07: 11:20 AM CST
Band of Horses Sandwich Tour With More Dates

File-icon-gray Today's Other Headlines
Horizontal-dotbar

Browse


Horizontal-dotbar News-rss-feed
Horizontal-dotbar-fw
Horizontal-dotbar-fw
Horizontal-dotbar-fw
Horizontal-dotbar-fw
Other-recent-news
File-icon-gray Thu: 11-29-07 File-icon-gray Wed: 11-28-07 File-icon-gray Tue: 11-27-07 File-icon-gray Mon: 11-26-07 File-icon-gray Wed: 11-21-07 File-icon-gray Tue: 11-20-07 File-icon-gray Mon: 11-19-07 File-icon-gray Fri: 11-16-07 File-icon-gray Thu: 11-15-07 File-icon-gray Wed: 11-14-07 File-icon-gray Tue: 11-13-07 File-icon-gray Mon: 11-12-07 File-icon-gray Fri: 11-09-07 File-icon-gray Thu: 11-08-07 File-icon-gray Wed: 11-07-07 File-icon-gray Tue: 11-06-07 File-icon-gray Mon: 11-05-07 File-icon-gray Fri: 11-02-07 File-icon-gray Thu: 11-01-07 File-icon-gray Wed: 10-31-07