Forkcast
New Music: Ladytron: "Destroy Everything You Touch (Hot Chip Remix)" [MP3/Stream]

Hot Chip aren't known for destroying what they touch. Quite the contrary, in fact-- it's not like we've had a lot of complaints about their recent remixes for Kraftwerk, !!!, the Aliens, Free Blood or (especially!) Matthew Dear. Hot Chip's remix for Liverpool outfit Ladytron's "Destroy Everything You Touch", from a forthcoming UK single, gives the song some exotic color without taking its eyes off of the dancefloor. The original, pulled from excellent album The Witching Hour to become Pitchfork's #28 single of 2005, was shivery, gale-force synthpop.

Hot Chip's version starts like the calm after the winter storm, with Helen Marnie's vocals reduced to a whisper over Japanese-sounding instrumentation and a distant 4x4 stomp. Predictably enough, Hot Chip can't keep quiet for long, bringing on muscular bass, buzzing alien synths, and additional percussion. Aroyo's voice beats down sadsack keyboard melodies, and the Hot Chippers pipe out some "ohh" backing vocals because that's what they're there for. Not destruction so much as remodeling.

 
MP3:>Ladytron: "Destroy Everything You Touch (Hot Chip Remix)"
[from the "Destroy Everything You Touch" single; due 10/22/07 on So Sweet]
 

Posted by Marc Hogan on Thu: 10-11-07: 11:39 AM CDT | Digg this article | Add to del.icio.us | Permalink
Horizontal-dotbar-fw
Horizontal-dotbar-fw
Horizontal-dotbar-fw
Horizontal-dotbar-fw
Other-recent-news
File-icon-gray Thu: 10-11-07 File-icon-gray Wed: 10-10-07 File-icon-gray Tue: 10-09-07 File-icon-gray Mon: 10-08-07 File-icon-gray Fri: 10-05-07 File-icon-gray Thu: 10-04-07 File-icon-gray Wed: 10-03-07 File-icon-gray Tue: 10-02-07 File-icon-gray Mon: 10-01-07 File-icon-gray Sun: 09-30-07 File-icon-gray Fri: 09-28-07 File-icon-gray Thu: 09-27-07 File-icon-gray Wed: 09-26-07 File-icon-gray Tue: 09-25-07 File-icon-gray Mon: 09-24-07 File-icon-gray Fri: 09-21-07 File-icon-gray Thu: 09-20-07 File-icon-gray Wed: 09-19-07 File-icon-gray Tue: 09-18-07 File-icon-gray Mon: 09-17-07 File-icon-gray Fri: 09-14-07 File-icon-gray Thu: 09-13-07 File-icon-gray Wed: 09-12-07