News-header

Evangelicals' New Album Descends on Dead Oceans

Evangelicals, our favorite Oklahoma weirdoes that aren't the Flaming Lips, have plumbed their psych-filled psyches and returned with "Oklahoma's answer to Prince's Around the World in a Day, but from the perspective of someone crashing at Pee-Wee's Playhouse...who happens to have a chainsaw slowly gnawing through his leg," according to a press release. So much for a sophomore slump, then!

Said crazy-ass album, The Evening Descends, will hit stores via Dead Oceans on January 22 (recall that Evangelicals were among the Secretly Canadian/Jagjaguwar-spawned imprint's first four signings). And based on another quote from the same press release describing Evening's "tales of religion and revivalism, plus insanity, drugs, black-outs, zombies, good and evil, car crashes, love, and a mental institution called Bellawood," the album seems every bit the deserving follow-up to the band's demented 2006 debut, So Gone.

Evangelicals currently have one date on the docket: December 1 at Stillwater, Oklahoma's Eskimo Joe's alongside Colourmusic.

The Evening Descends:

01 The Evening Descends
02 Midnight Vignette
03 Skeleton Man
04 Stoned Again
05 Party Crashin'
06 Snowflakes
07 How Do You Sleep?
08 Bellawood
09 Paperback Suicide
10 Here in the Deadlights
11 Bloodstream

File-icon Wed: 11-28-07: 11:14 AM CST
Black Lips Announce Huge 2008 Tour

File-icon Wed: 11-28-07: 07:00 AM CST
Jens Lekman, A Place to Bury Strangers Join P4K ATP

File-icon Tue: 11-27-07: 04:55 PM CST
New My Bloody Valentine Album: Not Digital-Only

File-icon Tue: 11-27-07: 03:15 PM CST
Interpol Live, Remix EPs Available Right Now

File-icon Tue: 11-27-07: 02:20 PM CST
Radiohead Announce First 2008 Dates

File-icon-gray Today's Other Headlines
Horizontal-dotbar

Browse


Horizontal-dotbar News-rss-feed
Horizontal-dotbar-fw
Horizontal-dotbar-fw
Horizontal-dotbar-fw
Horizontal-dotbar-fw
Other-recent-news
File-icon-gray Tue: 11-27-07 File-icon-gray Mon: 11-26-07 File-icon-gray Wed: 11-21-07 File-icon-gray Tue: 11-20-07 File-icon-gray Mon: 11-19-07 File-icon-gray Fri: 11-16-07 File-icon-gray Thu: 11-15-07 File-icon-gray Wed: 11-14-07 File-icon-gray Tue: 11-13-07 File-icon-gray Mon: 11-12-07 File-icon-gray Fri: 11-09-07 File-icon-gray Thu: 11-08-07 File-icon-gray Wed: 11-07-07 File-icon-gray Tue: 11-06-07 File-icon-gray Mon: 11-05-07 File-icon-gray Fri: 11-02-07 File-icon-gray Thu: 11-01-07 File-icon-gray Wed: 10-31-07 File-icon-gray Tue: 10-30-07 File-icon-gray Mon: 10-29-07