Forkcast
Video: Bodies of Water: "I Heard It Sound" (Live on the "Take Away Show")

Bodies of Water need their own television show, like the Monkees. They need a line of bobblehead dolls, a breakfast cereal, a lunchbox. They're altogether too cute, too excited, too much fun not to be marketed in the quaintest ways possible. If that sounds patronizing, consider this: I've seen them turn a small, sidestage club area, barely filled with people, into a raucous party that completely drowned out the popular but boring indie band upstairs.

For their "Take Away Show", the band wandered around Chinatown in their native Los Angeles, by all sounds and appearances a small hippie cult come down from the California hills. Performing "I Heard It Sound" from their "preachtastic" 8.2 debut Ears Will Pop & Eyes Will Blink, they amble down an alley and finally settle on a bench in front of K.G. Louie Co., singing and whistling together. As always with the "Take Away Show", it's the little details that make the performance, such as Meredith Metcalf playing the "Ode to Joy" sample on her keyboard then proclaiming that it's "a little number I came up with."

[original track from Ears Will Pop & Eyes Will Blink; out now on Thousand Tongues]
 

Posted by Stephen M. Deusner on Fri: 11-16-07: 10:22 AM CST | Digg this article | Add to del.icio.us | Permalink
Horizontal-dotbar-fw
Horizontal-dotbar-fw
Horizontal-dotbar-fw
Horizontal-dotbar-fw
Other-recent-news
File-icon-gray Wed: 12-12-07 File-icon-gray Tue: 12-11-07 File-icon-gray Mon: 12-10-07 File-icon-gray Fri: 12-07-07 File-icon-gray Thu: 12-06-07 File-icon-gray Wed: 12-05-07 File-icon-gray Tue: 12-04-07 File-icon-gray Mon: 12-03-07 File-icon-gray Fri: 11-30-07 File-icon-gray Thu: 11-29-07 File-icon-gray Wed: 11-28-07 File-icon-gray Tue: 11-27-07 File-icon-gray Mon: 11-26-07 File-icon-gray Wed: 11-21-07 File-icon-gray Tue: 11-20-07 File-icon-gray Mon: 11-19-07 File-icon-gray Fri: 11-16-07 File-icon-gray Thu: 11-15-07 File-icon-gray Wed: 11-14-07 File-icon-gray Tue: 11-13-07