News-header

Ladytron Sign to Nettwerk, Prep Fourth LP
Slag off old label, Rykodisc

Dig it: Ladytron have a new album, the follow-up to 2005's exquisite Witching Hour, due in May 2008. Well, almost: they're actually in Paris right now recording it with co-producer and Ed Banger dude Vicarious Bliss. And that's not all. Ladytron have inked with a new label, Nettwerk, to help bring that as-yet-untitled fourth album home to roost.

What, you don't know Ladytron? "Ladytron is one of the coolest, most vital and cutting edge bands around right now," according to Nettwerk co-founder Mark Jowett's press release quote. How about that?

Speaking to Billboard.com yesterday, Ladytron's Daniel Hunt was geeked about the signing as well: "We wanted to work with people who really understood where we were. The best thing about the Nettwerk deal is that the band and the management will have the ability to be really hands-on with the marketing and planning. This time around, nothing will be left to chance."

Hunt was notably less geeked about Ladytron's former label, Rykodisc, which gobbled up their former former label, Emperor Norton. "We were not on Rykodisc by choice," he told Billboard.com. "They wanted to keep us and we said no. The only reason our last record did so well was because we worked really hard and toured on it for two years. The label really did nothing." Rykodisc could not be reached for comment.

The most recent round of Ladytron touring, meanwhile, recently wrapped up, but the band does have a pair of DJ dates in the weeks to come.

Ladytron DJ dates:

11-24 Vienna, Austria - Pling Plong Club
11-26 Dublin, Ireland - Strictly Handbag @ Rira

File-icon Tue: 11-13-07: 10:00 AM CST
Ladytron Sign to Nettwerk, Prep Fourth LP

File-icon Tue: 11-13-07: 07:00 AM CST
Arctic Monkeys Choose "Teddy Picker" for Next Single

File-icon Mon: 11-12-07: 04:30 PM CST
Dan Deacon Reveals Ultimate Reality Tour Details

File-icon Mon: 11-12-07: 04:00 PM CST
Photos: The Walkmen [San Diego, CA; 11/10/07]

File-icon Mon: 11-12-07: 03:30 PM CST
Los Campesinos! Name Album, Add 2008 Dates

File-icon-gray Today's Other Headlines
Horizontal-dotbar

Browse


Horizontal-dotbar News-rss-feed
Horizontal-dotbar-fw
Horizontal-dotbar-fw
Horizontal-dotbar-fw
Horizontal-dotbar-fw
Other-recent-news
File-icon-gray Mon: 11-12-07 File-icon-gray Fri: 11-09-07 File-icon-gray Thu: 11-08-07 File-icon-gray Wed: 11-07-07 File-icon-gray Tue: 11-06-07 File-icon-gray Mon: 11-05-07 File-icon-gray Fri: 11-02-07 File-icon-gray Thu: 11-01-07 File-icon-gray Wed: 10-31-07 File-icon-gray Tue: 10-30-07 File-icon-gray Mon: 10-29-07 File-icon-gray Fri: 10-26-07 File-icon-gray Thu: 10-25-07 File-icon-gray Wed: 10-24-07 File-icon-gray Tue: 10-23-07 File-icon-gray Mon: 10-22-07 File-icon-gray Sun: 10-21-07 File-icon-gray Sat: 10-20-07 File-icon-gray Fri: 10-19-07 File-icon-gray Thu: 10-18-07 File-icon-gray Wed: 10-17-07 File-icon-gray Tue: 10-16-07 File-icon-gray Mon: 10-15-07 File-icon-gray Sun: 10-14-07