DallasCowboys.com - History
  • Landry Hired - Clint Murchison, Jr., and Bedford Wynne sign N.Y. Giants defensive assistant Tom Landry to a personal services contract on Dec. 27, 1959, with the intention of naming him head coach once they are awarded an expansion franchise by the NFL.
  • NFL Franchise - Clint Murchison, Jr., and Bedford Wynne were awarded an expansion franchise in the NFL at the annual league meeting in Miami Beach, Fla. The Cowboys were to play as a "swing" team, playing every other team one time during the first season, although listed in the Western Conference standing (January 28)
  • Cowboys Stocked - A player pool was set up in the league meeting in Los Angeles, with each of 12 NFL teams freezing 25 names on its roster and the Cowboys allowed to pick three from each team for a total of 36 veterans. Dallas, once given the list, had to select its 36 players within 24 hours (March 13)
  • Training Starts - Rookies report to first Cowboys camp at Pacific University in Forest Grove, Oregon (July 19).
  • Click here for the complete roster
    Record: 0-11-1 Coach: Tom Landry
    WR Fred Dugan
    LT Bob Fry
    LG Duane Putnam
    C John Houser
    RG Buzz Guy (7)
      Mike Falls (5)
    RT Paul Dickson (8)
      Dick Klein (4)
    TE Jim Doran (9)
      Dick Bielski (3)
    WR Bill Howton (7)
      Frank Clarke (3)
    QB Eddie LeBaron
    RB Don McIlhenny (7)
      L.G. Dupre (5)
    FB Walt Kowalczyk (7)
      Gene Babb (5)
    LE Nate Borden
    LT Don Healy
    RT Ed Husmann
    RE John Gonzaga
    LLB Wayne Hansen
    MLB Jerry Tubbs
    RLB Gene Cronin
    LCB Tom Franckhauser
    RCB Don Bishop
    SS Bob Bercich (6)
      Fred Doeling(3)
      Gary Wisener(3)
    FS Bill Butler

    Technical Support | FAQ | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Advertise Here | Employment
    This site has been tested and is best viewed using Internet Explorer 6.0, Netscape 7.1, Opera 8.0 or Mozilla Firefox 1.0. Click here to download the latest version of these browsers.
    ©2007 Dallas Cowboys. All rights reserved. Do not duplicate in any form without permission of the Dallas Cowboys.