News-header

Malkmus' Real Emotional Trash Album Cover Revealed
Expect a run on thrift store 70s folk festival t-shirts any minute now

When we rung up Stephen Malkmus last month to talk Real Emotional Trash, he answered the phone just as he was "down in the basement, fucking around" and "trying to secure the cover art for this new album." Consider it secured: that right there before your very eyes will grace the front of every copy of Stephen Malkmus and the Jicks' Real Emotional Trash when it hits March 4 from Matador. Hypnotic!

Apart from our ogling, we've also got word that a couple of those Jicks tour dates we told you about last week were slightly more tentative than originally reported. The folks at Matador jumped the gun on announcing those gigs in D.C. and Philly, and have since apologized for the haste on the Matablog. "When and if they're finalized," they write, "we'll be posting something to that effect." Hey, who wouldn't want ol' Malky boy and the band in their building? Crazy people, that's who.

Also, John Vanderslice has been added as the opening act for the shows.

SM/Jicks (all shows with John Vanderslice):

03-19 Minneapolis, MN - First Avenue
03-20 Milwaukee, WI - Pabst Theater
03-21 Chicago, IL - Vic Theatre
03-22 Indianapolis, IN - Vogue Theater
03-23 Newport, KY - Southgate House
03-25 Nashville, TN - Mercy Lounge
03-26 Atlanta, GA - Variety Playhouse
03-28 Washington, DC - 9:30 Club
03-29 Philadelphia, PA - Fillmore

03-31 New York, NY - Bowery Ballroom
04-02 Brooklyn, NY - Music Hall of Williamsburg
04-03 Boston, MA - Paradise Rock Club
04-04 North Adams, MA - MASS MoCA

File-icon Thu: 01-10-08: 02:30 PM CST
Mountain Goats Add Dates, Darnielle's Book Revealed

File-icon Thu: 01-10-08: 01:15 PM CST
Radiohead to Take Over BBC Radio 1 Airwaves

File-icon Thu: 01-10-08: 12:45 PM CST
Thermals Kick Out the Jams for Live Band Karaoke

File-icon Thu: 01-10-08: 12:15 PM CST
Low Tour, Retribution Gospel Choir Prep Debut LP

File-icon Thu: 01-10-08: 11:45 AM CST
Islands Return to the Road

File-icon-gray Today's Other Headlines
Horizontal-dotbar

Browse


Horizontal-dotbar News-rss-feed
Horizontal-dotbar-fw
Horizontal-dotbar-fw
Horizontal-dotbar-fw
Horizontal-dotbar-fw
Other-recent-news
File-icon-gray Wed: 01-09-08 File-icon-gray Tue: 01-08-08 File-icon-gray Mon: 01-07-08 File-icon-gray Sun: 01-06-08 File-icon-gray Fri: 01-04-08 File-icon-gray Thu: 01-03-08 File-icon-gray Wed: 01-02-08 File-icon-gray Wed: 12-26-07 File-icon-gray Fri: 12-21-07 File-icon-gray Tue: 12-18-07 File-icon-gray Mon: 12-17-07 File-icon-gray Fri: 12-14-07 File-icon-gray Thu: 12-13-07 File-icon-gray Wed: 12-12-07 File-icon-gray Tue: 12-11-07