News-header

Deerhunter "Going on Hiatus"

Deerhunter, we hardly knew thee! And yet, with a whirlwind year about to wrap up that was chock full of touring, multiple releases, and a fair share of controversy, frontman Bradford Cox revealed via the band's blog this past weekend that Deerhunter will soon be taking a much-deserved break.

"I would like to announce that the show we are playing at Primavera in Barcelona [December 8]...will be our last for quite some time," wrote Cox. "It will also be the last time we are ever playing the Cryptograms set we have been playing for the last two years. After that the band are going on hiatus. We all need some time to organize our lives.

"Thanks to everyone who has helped us out. This has been a crazy year that I will always remember."

Cox goes on to promise that the Deerhunter blog will continue to be updated from time to time, but with the focus shifted to band members' extracurricular endeavors. Speaking of which, Cox will no doubt use this time off to drum up support for his forthcoming debut under the Atlas Sound moniker, due February 19 from Kranky.

Thankfully, however, this is all looking more like a Patrick Wolf hiatus than a Sleater-Kinney hiatus. "Quite some time" can't be too terribly long, as Deerhunter are scheduled to play ATP vs. Pitchfork in May 2008. Enjoy your vacations, guys.

Deerhunter:

11-19 Leipzig, Germany - UT Connewitz
11-30 Atlanta, GA - Variety Playhouse *#
12-05 Athens, GA - Georgia Theatre *
12-08 Barcelona, Spain - Primavera Club
05-09-11 Rye, England - Camber Sands Holiday Centre (ATP vs. Pitchfork) ^

* with Black Lips
# with the Selmanaires, Snowden
^ with the Hold Steady, Black Lips, Les Savy Fav, Of Montreal, Hot Chip, Man Man, Los Campesinos!, Caribou, No Age, Glass Candy, Dirty Projectors, Sebadoh, Ween, Wooden Shjips, Pissed Jeans, the Black Angels, Fuck Buttons, Shit and Shine, Apse

File-icon Thu: 01-10-08: 02:30 PM CST
Mountain Goats Add Dates, Darnielle's Book Revealed

File-icon Thu: 01-10-08: 01:15 PM CST
Radiohead to Take Over BBC Radio 1 Airwaves

File-icon Thu: 01-10-08: 12:45 PM CST
Thermals Kick Out the Jams for Live Band Karaoke

File-icon Thu: 01-10-08: 12:15 PM CST
Low Tour, Retribution Gospel Choir Prep Debut LP

File-icon Thu: 01-10-08: 11:45 AM CST
Islands Return to the Road

File-icon-gray Today's Other Headlines
Horizontal-dotbar

Browse


Horizontal-dotbar News-rss-feed
Horizontal-dotbar-fw
Horizontal-dotbar-fw
Horizontal-dotbar-fw
Horizontal-dotbar-fw
Other-recent-news
File-icon-gray Wed: 01-09-08 File-icon-gray Tue: 01-08-08 File-icon-gray Mon: 01-07-08 File-icon-gray Sun: 01-06-08 File-icon-gray Fri: 01-04-08 File-icon-gray Thu: 01-03-08 File-icon-gray Wed: 01-02-08 File-icon-gray Wed: 12-26-07 File-icon-gray Fri: 12-21-07 File-icon-gray Tue: 12-18-07 File-icon-gray Mon: 12-17-07 File-icon-gray Fri: 12-14-07 File-icon-gray Thu: 12-13-07 File-icon-gray Wed: 12-12-07 File-icon-gray Tue: 12-11-07