Forkcast
Video: Goldfrapp: "A & E"

Last week we posted the first single from Goldfrapp's soon-to-be-released Seventh Tree, "A & E", a shift toward mellow acoustic strums from the UK electronic group. Dougal Wilson, the director behind Bat for Lashes' wonderfully creepy "What's a Girl to Do" video (one of Pitchfork's Top 50 Music Videos of 2007), goes back into the woods with Alison Goldfrapp in his clip for the song. Resplendent in a flowing white dress, Goldfrapp sings from a bed of leaves, while a troupe of leaf-men dance around-- hey, trees are people, too-- and bow down to her as some kind of sylvan goddess. When the song reaches its sighing bridge, the wind blows, the day turns to night, and a couple of woodland critters arrive to check out the action. The video is a good fit for Goldfrapp's bright, folksy turn here, and it comes with a twist ending that warms this caffeine junkie's heart. (via Blender)

[from Seventh Tree; due 02/25/08 on Mute]

Posted by Marc Hogan on Tue: 01-08-08: 11:46 AM CST | Digg this article | Add to del.icio.us | Permalink

File-icon Thu: 01-10-08: 01:15 PM CST
Radiohead to Take Over BBC Radio 1 Airwaves

File-icon Thu: 01-10-08: 12:45 PM CST
Thermals Kick Out the Jams for Live Band Karaoke

File-icon Thu: 01-10-08: 12:15 PM CST
Low Tour, Retribution Gospel Choir Prep Debut LP

File-icon Thu: 01-10-08: 11:45 AM CST
Islands Return to the Road

File-icon Thu: 01-10-08: 10:55 AM CST
Morrissey Reveals Greatest Hits Details, Bonus CD

File-icon-gray Today's Other Headlines
Horizontal-dotbar

Browse


Horizontal-dotbar Downloads-rss-feed
Horizontal-dotbar-fw
Horizontal-dotbar-fw
Horizontal-dotbar-fw
Horizontal-dotbar-fw
Other-recent-news
File-icon-gray Wed: 01-09-08 File-icon-gray Tue: 01-08-08 File-icon-gray Mon: 01-07-08 File-icon-gray Sun: 01-06-08 File-icon-gray Fri: 01-04-08 File-icon-gray Thu: 01-03-08 File-icon-gray Wed: 01-02-08 File-icon-gray Wed: 12-26-07 File-icon-gray Fri: 12-21-07 File-icon-gray Tue: 12-18-07 File-icon-gray Mon: 12-17-07 File-icon-gray Fri: 12-14-07 File-icon-gray Thu: 12-13-07 File-icon-gray Wed: 12-12-07 File-icon-gray Tue: 12-11-07