FAQsSite MapSearchFAQsSite MapSearchLaunch Real-Time Leader BoardHomeHomeLeader BoardThe PlayersToday at the MastersThe CourseInteractiveAbout the 2007 MastersHistory of the MastersHomeLeader BoardThe PlayersToday at the MastersThe CourseInteractiveAbout the 2006 MastersHistory of the MastersHomeLive Scores Leader BoardTee TimesRSS News Feed (XML)
Skip to Tee Times
Skip to Leaderboard Link
Skip to Section Navigation
Skip to Main Content
Skip to footer
The Official Site of the Masters Tournament
Skip Tee TimesSkip Leaderboard

Start section navigation

Skip section navigation
Powered by IBM
History of the Masters
Records and Statistics

Par 3 Contest
First played in 1960 and won that year by Sam Snead, the Par 3 Contest has become a Wednesday tradition at the Masters. The Par 3 course was built in 1958 by architect George Cobb and Clifford Roberts. Tournament participants, non-competing past champions, and Honorary Invitees are invited to participate in the Contest. The nine hole course is par 27, 1,060 yards and played over DeSoto Springs Pond and Ike's Pond. In 1987 current hole Nos. 8 and 9 were added over Ike's Pond, eliminating hole Nos. 1 and 2 of the original course from Wednesday competition.

In the history of the Contest there have been 61 holes-in-one made, a record five in 2002. No Par 3 Contest winner has won the Masters the same year as his short-course victory. There have been 18 sudden death playoffs. Art Wall (1965) and Gay Brewer (1973) share the course record of 20.

Listed below is each year's winner and score, and the year(s) he won the Masters.

YearPlayerScoreMasters Victory
1960Sam Snead231949,1952,1954
1961Deane Beman22 
1962Bruce Crampton22 
1963*George Bayer23 
1964Labron Harris Jr.23 
1965Art Wall Jr.201959
1966Terry Dill22 
1967*Arnold Palmer231958,1960,1962,1964
1968Bob Rosburg22 
1969*Bob Lunn23 
1970Harold Henning21 
1971*Dave Stockton23 
1972Steve Melnyk23 
1973Gay Brewer201967
1974*Sam Snead231949,1952,1954
1975*Isao Aoki23 
1976Jay Haas21 
1977*Tom Weiskopf23 
1978*Lou Graham22 
1979Joe Inman,Jr.23 
1980Johnny Miller23 
1981Isao Aoki22 
1982*Tom Watson231977,1981
1983Hale Irwin22 
1984Tommy Aaron221973
1985Hubert Green22 
1986*Gary Koch23 
1987Ben Crenshaw221984,1995
1988Tsuneyuki Nakajima24 
1989*Bob Gilder22 
1990Raymond Floyd231976
1991*Rocco Mediate24 
1992Davis Love III22 
1993Chip Beck21 
1994Vijay Singh222000
1995*Hal Sutton23 
1996*Jay Haas22 
1997*Sandy Lyle221988
1998Sandy Lyle241988
1999Joe Durant22 
2000*Chris Perry23 
2001David Toms22 
2002*Nick Price22 
2003+Padraig Harrington
David Toms
2004*Padraig Harrington23 
2005Jerry Pate22 
2006Ben Crane23 
*Won in playoff

Hole Yardage
No. 1130
No. 270
No. 390
No. 4130
No. 5130
No. 6140
No. 7115
No. 8120
No. 9135

Records and Statistics
> Champions
> Holes-in-One/Double Eagles
> Par 3 Contest
> Scoring Statistics
> Eagle, Birdie Leaders
> All-Time Cum. Stats
> Tournament Decided By
> Career Scoring Averages
> Runners-Up/Leaders
> Cut Information
> Top Finishers
> Tournaments Entered
> Highest & Lowest Scores

Start of Footer

Skip Footer
Masters In The Know
Privacy Statement
© Copyright IBM Corp., Augusta National, Inc., 1996, 2007. All Rights Reserved.
Masters is a registered trademark of Augusta National, Inc.
FAQs     |      SITE MAP     |      SEARCH