Special Grant Program in the Chemical Sciences, 2005

 

 

Institution

 

Recipient

 

Project Title

 

Award

 

E-mail address

Alliance for Education and Seattle Public Schools

Robin Pasquarella

Promoting K-12 Student Achievement in Chemistry

$22,120

Nancy@alliance4ed.org

American Chemical Society

Rudy M. Baum

A summer science writing internship at Chemical & Engineering News

$6,000

r_baum@acs.org

American Chemical Society

Denise L. Creech

American Chemical Society Scholars Program

$100,000

d_creech@acs.org

American Chemical Society

John M. Malin

Development of integrated environmental water chemistry laboratory modulesWorkshop on Air and Water Quality in the Middle East

$15,000

j_malin@acs.org

American Psychological Association

Rena F. Subotnik

THE CATALYST PROGRAM: Delineating the Path to Eminence in Chemical Science for Gifted Adolescents

$25,000

rsubotnik@apa.org

Bronx High School of Science

Fanny K. Ennever

Developing an inquiry-based laboratory curriculum for high-school chemistry courses

$27,500

fke1@columbia.edu

Columbia University

George W. Flynn

Small Wonders: A Media Project on Nanoscale Science and Technology

$75,000

flynn@chem.columbia.edu

COSI Toledo

Samuel B. Dean

Science Cafe

$28,200

dean@cositoledo.org

Elementary Institute of Science

Amelia Cacho

Chemical Science Enrichment for Children

$25,378

acacho@eisca.org

Emory University

Stefan Lutz

Advanced undergraduate research laboratory - novel biocatalysts from combinatorial libraries of metagenomic DNA

$25,000

sal2@emory.edu

Filmmakers Collaborative

Stephen E. Lyons

To support Phase 1 of The Mystery of Matter, a primtime PBS television seriest on the history of chemistry.

$58,250

stephenlyons@comcast.net

Grand Valley State University

Deborah G. Herrington and
Ellen J. Yezierski

Target Inquiry - Bringing Inquiry to the Classroom Through Research, Inquiry Materials Adaptation, and Implementation: Professional Development for High School Chemistry Teachers

$116,750

herringd@gvsu.edu
yezierse@gvsu.edu

Great Lakes Science Center

Jennifer C. Radwan

Mission Chemistry - Stimulating Interest and Increasing Understanding of Chemical Sciences at the Great Lakes Science Center.

19,650

radwanj@glsc.org

Hamilton College

Karen S. Brewer

Materials Chemistry Project Laboratories for Descriptive Inorganic Chemistry

$36,500

kbrewer@hamilton.edu

Harvey Mudd College

Hal Van Ryswyk

The Chemistry of Lead-Contamination from Vehicle Emissions: A Project in Science and Public Safety

$20,000

hal_vanryswyk@hmc.edu

Oregon State University

Christine Pastorek

Introducing fiber optic coupled miniature CCD spectrometers in teaching chemistry

$28,349

christine.pastorek@oregonstate.edu

The Pennsylvania State University

Paul C. Painter

Development of a "Natural History of Polymers" CD

$20,000

painter@matse.psu.edu

Stonehill College

Louis Liotta

Project SUCCESS (Stonehill Undergraduate Collaboration with Community Educators and Secondary Students)

$28,959

lliotta@stonehill.edu

The Discovery Museums

Denise LeBlanc

Super Sleuths: Taking the Mystery Out of Chemistry

$16,296

dleblanc@discoverymuseums.org

University of Arkansas

Peter A. Iyere

Weekend/Summer Chemistry Reinforcement Program for Minority High School Students

$23,197

Iyere_p@uapb.edu

University of California, Berkeley

Robert Bergman

Chemistry in the Classroom: A Collaboration between UC Berkeley Chemistry Department and Community Resources for Science

$20,000

bergman@cchem.berkeley.edu

University of California, Davis

Mike Stieff

Incorporating Simulations and Modeling in General Chemistry

$34,321

mstieff@ucdavis.edu

University of California, San Diego

Sherry Seethaler

Molecules for the Media (Press Workshops and Website)

$50,000

sseethaler@ucsd.edu

University of California, Santa Barbara

Petra Van Koppen

Outreach Program to Improve Educational Opportunities for K-12 students: A Hands-On Inquiry-Based Approach to Teaching Physical Science in the Fifth Grade

$24,661

petra@chem.ucsb.edu

University of Connecticut

Arthur Dimock

Summer Chemistry Blast!

$19,400

arthur.dimock@uconn.edu

University of Notre Dame

Douglas A. Miller

Application of XRF spectrophotometry in a chemistry based community service course

$20,000

miller.193@nd.edu

University of South Dakota

Mary T. Berry

Bridging Native American Culture and Chemistry: Undergraduate Research in Natural Products Isolation and Derivatization.

$25,000

mberry@usd.edu

Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

Timothy Long

Mentoring Academic Growth in our Communities (MAGIC): Teaming Research Universities with Regional Science Museums

$48,000

telong@vt.edu

 

 

2004 Special Grant Program in the Chemical Sciences

2006 Special Grant Program in the Chemical Sciences

 

BACK TO THE DREYFUS FOUNDATION HOME PAGE
BACK TO THE AWARDS LIST