top FPO 1
Men for & with Others

St. Xavier Students Earn More Academic Awards

Date: 10/16/2006

Mark Motz

St. Xavier Students Earn More Academic Awards

Less than a week after St. X learned it is home to 137 Advanced Placement Scholars, St. X received word from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation that in addition to the 16 National Merit Semifinalists announced last month, 24 others have been named National Merit Commended Students.


St. X seniors Jose Almaguer, Jonathan Aranow, Edward Babbitt, Mark Becker, Mitchell Chung, Robert Enouen, Andrew Filak, Michael Franke, Adrian Githuku, Joseph Heekin, Jonathan Hoehn, Brian Hughes, Michael Lorenz, Charles Male, Michael Minutolo, David Mosko, Garrett Nako, Matthew Niehaus, Brian Nordyke, Tyler Smith, Benjamin Spotts, Jeremy Stegman, Brendan Sullivan and Kareeem Zaki earned Commended student honors.

In addition to the Commended Students, Christopher Asbury and Brandon Lindsay were National Achievement Program participants referred to colleges.

St. X Principal David B. Mueller (’72) reiterated what he said when the NMS Semifinalists were honored. “This is a wonderful academic achievement for these young men and we’re very proud of their efforts,” he said. “They’ve stretched their abilities and their work ethics to attain this recognition and it is very much in line with our Jesuit ideal of magis, striving for more. It’s also very much in line with our Graduate at Graduation goal of molding intellectually competent students.”


The National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced more than 1.4 million   students representing more than 21,000 high schools across the country took the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying test as juniors in 2005 to qualify for the competition. Commended students are among the top five percent of all students who took the test.

On top of his NMS recognition, Jeremy Stegman was one 606 seniors from across the United States, Canada, Virgin Islands and American Schools Abroad to earn a certificate for superior writing from the National Council of Teachers of English. He is one of 12 students from Ohio to earn the award and the only one from Cincinnati.

The NTCE Achievement in Writing program was established in 1957. A team of English teachers present awards based on submitted student writing, as well as writing conducted under supervision on impromptu themes.

St. Xavier High School · 600 W. North Bend Road · Cincinnati, Ohio 45224site map | contact us