University of Cambridge

The Nobel Prize

The Nobel Prize was established in accordance with the will of Swede, Alfred Nobel - inventor of dynamite and holder of more than 350 patents. Awarded annually since 1901, the Nobel Prize is the first annual international award to recognise achievements in Physics, Medicine, Chemistry, Peace and Literature. Nobel prizes have been awarded to members of Cambridge University for significant advances as diverse as the discovery of the structure of DNA, the development of a national income accounting system, the mastery of an epic and narrative psychological art and the discovery of penicillin.

The University of Cambridge has more Nobel Prize winners than any other institution.

Cambridge's Nobel Prize winners

URL of this document: