Five countries excluded from African club competition

Five countries excluded from African club competition

ACCRA, Feb 10 (Reuters) - Clubs from five countries -- the Central African Republic, Chad, Kenya, Rwanda and Sierra Leone -- have been excluded from African continental club competition this year, the Confederation of African Football (CAF) said on Sunday.

The five countries were disqualified from competing in this year's African Champions League and the African Confederation Cup after "failing to fulfill their financial obligations to the Confederation," a CAF statement said.

The decision was made by CAF's executive committee, whose membership includes Chad and Rwanda.

The decision means clubs like Zamalek of Egypt and TP Mazembe Englebert from the Democratic Republic of Congo have walkovers to the second round of the Champions League.

First round, first leg matches in both the Champions League and Confederation Cup are scheduled for Feb. 15-17.

(Reporting by Mark Gleeson; Editing by Greg Stutchbury)

Updated on Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 4:20 am, EST

Email to a Friend | View Popular

Sponsor Results
 Recent News
AEK Athens 1 Getafe 1 - UEFA Cup result
Galatasaray 0 Bayer Leverkusen 0 - UEFA Cup result
Giovanni Trapattoni