Front page    CV    My books    About me    Contact

The Shamer Quartet

Click on a book for a detailed description

"On a scale from 1 to 10, this is 11..."
- 12-year old reviewer on Sengeloese Public Library's home page.

"The only book that equals Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings."
- reader review in BookGuide.

"The Shamer's Daughter rocks!"
- reader review in BookGuide.

"Too old for Harry Potter? Maybe this is for you ..."
- recommendation from The Surrey Library Service

The Shamer's Daughter

The Shamer's Daughter is a fantasy novel which is also a murder mystery. Eleven-year-old Dina has unwillingly inherited her mother's Gift: the ability to elicit shamed confessions from even the most hardened wrong-doers, simply by looking into their eyes. To Dina, however, these powers are not a gift, but a curse. Surrounded by fear, hostility and averted glances, she longs for simple friendship. Yet when her mother is called to Dunark Castle to deal with a bloody triple murder, Dina must come to terms with her Shamer's Eyes - or let her mother fall prey to the uncommonly vicious and revolting dragons of Dunark. Not all of which are of the quadruped variety...

The Shamer's Daughter has received honorary mention by the Danish Ministry of Culture as one of the best children's books published in 2000. In the UK, it was shortlisted for the Marsh Award for Children's Literature in Translation.

The Shamer's Signet

The story of the Shamer's children, begun in The Shamer's Daughter, continues in The Shamer's Signet. When the Shamer is lured into an ambush and terribly wounded, 16-year-old Davin sets out to revenge his mother's injury. But his seemingly straightforward quest soon runs into a quagmire of mundane misadventures and near-fatal misunderstandings. It is not so easy to kill a man; and for the Shamer's son it is harder still to return to his mother with the message that his sister Dina, who has come to his rescue, is missing and may be dead. Both Davin and Dina have battles to fight in this book - Davin with the sword, and Dina with the dangerous gift she has inherited from her mother.

The Shamer's Signet was published in Denmark in 2001. It appeared, with The Shamer's Daughter, in Norway in March 2003, and English and Swedish publication soon after.

The Serpent Gift

A watching face in a market crowd, a mist-shrouded figure on the moors, a haunting presence seen only when he wants to be seen - Sezuan, a Blackmaster and possessor of the Serpent Gift for lie and illusion is a chilling and ambiguous figure at the best of times. He is also Dina's father. And when he comes to claim the daughter he has never before seen, the Shamer and her family are catapulted into reckless flight and danger. Met sometimes with kindness, and more often with suspicion and prejudice, they soon find out that the existence of a refugee is both precarious and harsh. Davin is arrested on a spurious charge and sent to the rock fortress of Sagisburg. With nowhere else to turn, Dina is forced to make a fearful bargain with Sezuan before she can attempt her brother's rescue.

The Serpent Gift was published in Denmark in 2001.

The Shamer's War

The last novel in the series, The Shamer's War takes Dina and Davin back to Dunark where it all began. Drakan, the self-styled Dragon Lord of Dunark who once tried to feed Dina's mother to his revolting dragons, continues to cast his shadow over the coastlands. His rule is a harsh one, and he ruthlessly hunts down Shamers in order to burn them at the stake. He is the only completely shameless human being Dina has ever met, and he seems able to spread his shamelessness around him, so that in his name people can commit acts they would never otherwise have countenanced. If simple human decency is to survive, he must be opposed. But rebellions want leaders, and what better choice than the legitimate heir to the lordship of Dunark, Dina's friend Nico? Never mind that Nico hates swords and is reluctant to kill even a rabbit. Everyone wants him to be a hero. But as Nico points out to Dina, heroes have a nasty habit of ending up dead. Quite often, so do the people around them.

The Shamer's War was published in Denmark in 2003.

The Shamer books have been sold for publication in many countries all over the world - among them Great Britain, Sweden, Japan, Turkey, France, Germany, Russia, Norway, the Faroes, Lithuania, and the Netherlands.

Back to Books