About the Game The Coaches The Rosters Pressroom Hall of Fame Sponsors Contact Us


East-West Shrine Game Announces Hall of Fame Class

HOUSTON --- East-West Shrine Game Executive Director Jack Hart announced on Monday the Hall of Fame Inductees for the 2008 game. The six new members all starred in the East-West Shrine Game as collegiate seniors.

The Class of 2008 includes Purdue’s Dave Butz, Minnesota’s Carl Eller, Forrest Gregg from SMU, Texas Tech’s E.J. Holub, Penn State’s Lenny Moore and Larry Wilson from Utah.

Butz played 16 years as a defensive lineman for both the St. Louis Cardinals and Washington Redskins. A two-time Super Bowl champion, Butz was selected to the NFL 1980s All-Decade Team and was a one-time Pro Bowler in 1983, in a season in which he recorded 11 sacks, a career best.

Elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2004, Eller was a member of the Purple People Eaters with the Minnesota Vikings during its heyday during the 60s and 70s. During one stretch, the Vikings won the NFC Central Division 10 of 11 seasons. Eller was a member of the 1969 NFL Championship team, as well as the NFC Championship teams of 1973, 1974 and 1976, and played in four Super Bowls.

Eller was selected to play in six Pro Bowls and was voted the George S. Halas Trophy in 1971 as the NFL’s Defensive Player of the Year. A native of Winston-Salem, N.C., Eller was a two-time All-America at the University of Minnesota, and helped the Golden Gophers to a national championship. He was later elected to the College Football Hall of Fame in 2006. /p>

A name well-known in the state of Texas, Gregg was a standout at SMU before taking his game to the NFL with the Green Bay Packers. Gregg was part of six championships with the Packers and the Dallas Cowboys. Gregg was a member of the NFL 75th Anniversary All-Time Team, as well as the 1960s All-Decade Team.

As a head coach, Gregg coached the Cincinnati Bengals to Super Bowl XVI, and also coached with the Packers and Cleveland Browns. Gregg also coached at the collegiate program, taking over at his alma mater, SMU, and guided them for two seasons as the Mustangs recovered from the NCAA-imposed “Death Penalty.”

Holub is another native Texan in this year’s class. After starring at Texas Tech, where he was a two-time All-American center, Holub played for the Dallas Texans of the AFL and the NFL’s Kansas City Chiefs. As a matter of fact, Holub is the only player to start two Super Bowls at two different positions – starting Super Bowl I at linebacker, and then starting Super Bowl IV at center.

As a standout at Texas Tech, Holub was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1986, and later had his jersey (55) retired at TTU.

Playing in the 31st East-West Shrine Game with fellow inductee Gregg, Moore was the 1956 NFL Rookie of the Year in his first season with the Baltimore Colts. A great runner and receiver, Moore averaged at least 7.0 yards a carry in several seasons, while recording five consecutive seasons with at least 40 receptions.

A member of the NFL 1950s All-Decade Team, Moore retired from the Colts in 1967. Later, his jersey (24) was retired by the Colts. In 1975, Moore was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Finally, Wilson rounds out one of the top induction classes for the East-West Shrine Game. A two-way starter at Utah, Wilson was a 1960 seventh-round pick of the St. Louis Cardinals and went on to play in eight Pro Bowls in his 13 years in the NFL. Wilson was named to both the 1960s and 1970s NFL All-Decade Teams.

Wilson recorded 52 interceptions in his career and was elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1978. Wilson later served as interim head coach for the Cardinals during the 1979 season and then spent 13 years (1980-93) as the franchise’s general manager.

The 83rd edition of the East-West Shrine Game will be played on Saturday, Jan. 19, at 6 p.m. Central Standard Time at Robertson Stadium on the University of Houston campus. The game will be televised live by ESPN2.

« back

Gameday January 20, 2007 @ Reliant Stadium, Houston, TX
View 82nd Game Stats
©2002-2006 East West Shrine Game