ASU Sports Header


ASU Sports Hall of Fame

The Albany State University Sports Hall of Fame was organized in 1999 to formally recognize outstanding contributions to the heritage and tradition of excellence of the Golden Rams athletics program. Its purpose is to honor and preserve the memory of athletes, teams, coaches, administrators and supporters whose achievements have brought recognition and honor to the University and its athletic program. These individuals have exemplified the spirit and ideals of athletics in their professional and community life. Criteria for selection not only include achievements while at the University, but also accomplishments in the sports world later in life.

Class of 1999
Alice Coachman Davis
Caldwell Jones
Robert C. Marshall
Robert Cross
Obie O’Neal*
Billy C. Black

Class of 2000
Samuel Battle
Dr. C. K. Dunson
Charlene McWhorter Jackson
Robert Rainey*
Ronald D. Wood
W. Gerald Wright

Class of 2001
Coach Edith Pearl Daniels*
Dr. Jacob L. Shirley, Jr.
Coach James “Mike” White

Class of 2002
The 1960 Undefeated, Unscored Upon Football Team
Charles Evans

Class of 2003
Charles Jones
Major Jones
Melvin Jones
Phelan R. Thomas, DDD
Gregory D. Wells
Tiwauna Dixon Williams

Class of 2004
William Johnson
Coach Hampton Smith
Fred “Doc” Suttles, Jr.

Class of 2005
Dan Land

Class of 2007
Frederick Douglas
Willie J. Fussell 


Albany State University | 504 College Drive | Albany, Georgia 31705 | 229.430.4600