Perform site wide search
perform advanced options search

1951 to 1975

1952 Tram services abolished in Fremantle.
1953 January 7 Australind tabled to stop for the first time at Armadale
1954 November 28 Dieselisation of WAGR began with the commissioning of the “X” Class diesel electric locomotives (48 acquired)
1954 Metropolitan passenger service modernised with 18 ADG diesel mechanical railcars
1955 Visiting Town Planning consultant Professor Gordon Stephenson (in association with Town Planning Commissioner Hepburn) published a comprehensive Metropolitan Regional Plan containing proposals for an electric railway to the northern suburbs. 
1958 ‘Metropolitan (Perth) Passenger Transport Trust’ (forerunner of Transperth).  Took over the larger private bus companies, trams were retired from service.  Last tram service in Perth operates to Inglewood.
1959 May 2 Lathlain Station opened
1964 January Government took over the Midland Railway Co. of W.A. Ltd
1964 June The ‘Shopper’ and ‘Bunbury Belle’ services between Perth and Bunbury introduced
1968 October 5 Suburban service operated entirely by diesel railcars
1968 October 8 Midland Rail and Road Passenger Terminal opened
1968/69  Beckenham Station opened (renamed from Higham)
1969 Last rubber tyred trolley buses retired. 
1969 June 15 Perth Railway Station renamed City and East Perth station renamed Claisebrook
1971 November 22  Official introduction of the Prospector Service
1971 November 29 ‘The Prospector’ railcar service began commercial operation between Perth and Kalgoorlie
1973 October 29 Challis station opened
1974 Integration of Perth public transport took place when management of urban rail services was placed with the ‘Metropolitan (Perth) Passenger Transport Trust’ (the forerunner to Transperth). 
1975 September 19 Westrail image and logo introduced
1975 “The Shopper” and “Bunbury Belle” services withdrawn



We notice that you are using a browser that does not support current web standards. This means that the pages you view will not be correctly formatted. Browsers that support the standards are available for free.
To continue with an upgrade, please go to the Browser Upgrade Information page.