CLUBS, ORGANIZATIONS & SERVICES
Clubs and Organizations  - [Top]
Amnesty International – A nonprofit organization whose goal is to create awareness of human rights violations in an effort to help those suffering from them.
Contact: Maeve.Klersfeldt@Purchase.edu
Meets Thursday, 8pm
Red Room, Student Services
 
Anime Club – A club established to provide insight and appreciation for Japanese animation and culture. Discussions centered around what ways anime illustrates Japanese attitudes toward social and political issues. Hosts weekly anime screenings.
Contact: Kristin.Benedict@Purchase.edu
Meets Wednesday, 8pm
Commuter Lounge, CCN
 
Anthropology Club – This club exposes students to theoretical and practical perspectives that guide the study of anthropology, and examine its relevance to culture. Frequently hosts speakers and send members on conference trips.
Contact: Jaclyn.Kuizon@Purchase.edu
Meets Tuesday, 8pm
CCN 0014
 
Art ClubThe Art Club is open to all students interested in the study or practice of art and offers free figure drawing sessions. Currently working on erecting a permanent student art gallery in the Student Center where students can both exhibit work and curate shows.
Contact: Miguel.Rojas@Purchase.edu
Meets Mondays and Wednesdays, 8-10pm Saturday 1-3pm
VA 2016
 
CANDIESCANDIES is an organization created to provide parties hosted in on-campus venues. CANDIES also co-hosts many cross-cultural events with other clubs.
Contact: Jasmine.Hopkins@Purchase.edu
Meeting time TBA
Location TBA
 
Cheese Club – A group that meets weekly to enjoy the many flavors of cheese. All cheese lovers welcome.
Contact: Peri.Pipkin@Purchase.edu
Meets Thursday 10pm
The Co-Op
 
Comic Book Liberation Army (CBLA)CBLA welcomes individuals who find comfort in graphic novels and other comic arts. Responsible for the comic book section in the Purchase College Library and creators of the annual Poorchoice Magazine, a collection of Purchase comic artists.
Contact: ComicBookArmy@Yahoo.com
Meets Thursday, 8pm
Alumni Lounge, CCN 1014
 
Cultural Immersion Cultural Immersion holds workshops and events dedicated to exploring international cultures and topics. They sponsor the annual International Block Party in the Olde each spring.
Contact: Alexandra.Nicols@Purchase.edu
Meets Thursday, 8pm
Student Services Building
 
Dance Dance Revolution ClubDDR Club is where you can learn how to play the game, improve your skills competitively, participate in tournaments, and work toward buying DDR machines for the Student Center.
Contact: Benjamin.Bookbinder@Purchase.edu
Meets Tuesday, 9pm
Whitson’s in the Stood
 
DIY Fashion ClubA club dedicated to finding your own sense of style while being cost effective and environmental friendly.  Make your own clothes and accessories from recycled fabric, thrift store finds, and other found materials and create your own sense of style.  The club will feature weekly tutorials on a new pattern or DIY ideas and will promote discussion of new concepts for fashion and how people want to dress.  It will be a creative outlet for anyone who wants to dress how they want to dress.
Contact: Ryan.Michaud@Purchase.edu
Meeting time TBA
Location TBA
 
Drama LeagueDrama League gives students a chance to showcase their talent in an open environment, whether they are acting pros or have never been on stage in their lives.
Contact: Ashley.Howard@Purchase.edu
Meets Thursday, 8pm
CCN 0007
 
Economics Club — An organization in which students have the opportunity to learn about the workings of economics both on and off campus, and meet new people with common interests. Prominent speakers give lectures on capitalism, globalization, marketing, and finance, but also on topics that hit closer to home such as managing credit cards, dealing with student loan payments and much more relating to everyday student life.
Contact: I.Guthrie-Ashton@Purchase.edu
Meeting time TBA
Location TBA
 
Fencing Club – A group of students interested in learning classical and historical fencing techniques. The club promotes appreciation for the art of fencing and the historical context of swordplay.
Contact:PCFencing@gmail.com
Meets Monday and Thursday, 5:30-7pm; Wednesday, 12-2pm
Racquetball Courts (MR), Small Gym (W)
 
Film Society – A club devoted to the study and discussion of film as an art form. Often features screenings of rare, out of print, or foreign films in various on-campus venues as well as hosting lectures with well-known speakers.
Contact: Andrew.Rowley@Purchase.edu
Meeting time TBA
Student Center
 
Fusion Christian Fellowship – A chapter of the nationwide organization which promotes awareness of Christianity on-campus, and offers Christian-orientated events, services and other religious resources. Hosts workshops, speakers and musical performances.
Contact: FusionFellowship@gmail.com
Meets Thursday, 9pm
Fort Awesome Classroom
 
Gamers United – A venue wherein the large college gaming community can meet to discuss and play their favorite games, and enjoy the best possible gaming experience.  Includes console, role-playing, board, and more.
Contact: Joseph.Dinozzi@Purchase.edu
Meets Tuesday and Wednesday, 6-9pm
Community Room (The Olde)
 
Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Union (GLBTU) – An organization that provides support for gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender students as well as spreads knowledge of GLBT issues to the campus community.
Contact: Michael.Burgo@Purchase.edu
Meets Wednesday, 10pm
CCS 0037
 
Hillel – Chapter of the nationwide organization to build relations among students on-campus and raise awareness about Jewish culture and customs. Last year, Hillel hosted weekly Shabbat dinner as well as a variety of other activities.
Contact: Maya.Seegers@Purchase.edu
Meets Thursday, 8-9pm
Hillel Lounge, CCN 0025
 
History Club – Strives to bring together students with an interest in history and to promote an interest and understanding to the community at large through the use of interesting and new ideas.
Contact: PCHisClub@gmail.com
Meets Thursday, 8:30pm
CCN 0016
 
Italian Club — Join the Italian Club to gain knowledge and understanding of Italian and Italian-American life, language and culture.
Contact: Joseph.Brent@Purchase.edu
Meets Tuesday 9pm
The Community Room (The Olde)
 
Latinos Unidos – Strives to advocate awareness of Latino issues on campus as well as in our own communities and around the world. Coordinates several Latin events for all students throughout the year, including Tropical Christmas.
Contact: Tatiana.Pagan@Purchase.edu
Meets Tuesday, 10pm
CCN 0007
 
Literary Society – This club was created to bring literature and a love of literature to campus and to make it accessible to the entire community in the form of speakers, readings, and interactive activities.
Contact: Carissa.Palazzo@Purchase.edu
Meeting time TBA
Location TBA
 
Organization of African People In the Americas (OAPIA) – This organization aims to create a fun-filled environment balanced by deep, philosophical discussions on issues pertinent to bettering the lives of African descended Peoples and improving conditional standards of the communities from which we come and live. OAPIA aims to assist and retain students of African descent and/or belonging to the African Diaspora.
Contact: Saida.Balume@Purchase.edu
Meets Thursday, 10pm
CCN 0007
 
Official Guild of Role-playing Enthusiasts (OGRE) – Enjoy swinging large foam weapons at your friends? OGRE is a club which facilitates ongoing LARPs (Live Action Role-play) on campus as well as uniting students who share a common interest in role-playing in any medium.
Contact: Devon.Oratz@Purchase.edu
E-mail for game time and location
 
Philosophy SocietyThe Philosophy Society is designed to bring guest lecturers to discuss various philosophical concerns and encourage dialogue between the students.
Contact: Paula.Burke@Purchase.edu
Meets Friday, 12:30pm
CCS, Pura Vida
 
Political Science Club – Our mission is to create a forum for discussing new ideas in politics as well as current events in America or internationally in the hope of getting a better understanding of important events and concepts in politics.
Contact: Jason.Cohen@Purchase.edu
Meeting time TBA
Location TBA
 
Pre-Med Club – A club for students planning on entering into a career in the medical field. Closely connected to School of Natural Sciences, the club hosts lectures featuring speakers and weekly lunch meetings.
Contact: Brandon.Jackson@Purchase.edu
Meets Wednesday, 12pm
NS3059
 
Psychology Club – Serves the student community with lectures, workshops, and general interest meetings related to psychology, graduate school, and more.
Contact: Helayna.Herschkorn@Purchase.edu
Meets every other Wednesday, 12:30pm
NS1029
 
PUSH: Students into ActionPUSH is a club that aims to promote key social principles via major events with multicultural speakers and performers, and through community education and programs.
Contact: Push.IdeasIntoAction@gmail.com
Meets Wednesday, 9pm
CCN 0014
 
Purchase Environmental Activists (P.E.A.) – Encourages environmental sustainability throughout campus through education, activities and community outreach. PEA also works with other campus organizations to host campus cleanups and participates in Arbor Day. Look for their biggest event, Sustainable Living Week during Earth month in April!
Contact: PEAclub@gmail.com
Meets Wednesday, 5pm
CCN 0014a
 
RhymeBookRhymeBook is a safe space for musicians, poets, and various artisans to express themselves freely and openly like a Rhymebook, sketchpad, or journal, to share ideas, networking with each other, and develop strong bonds within the Purchase community.
Contact: Tejumade.Adeyeye@Purchase.edu
Meets Thursday, 10pm
Alumni Lounge, AV Building 10
 
Root Beer Club — Exists for the purpose of root beer appreciation—be it in exploring the multitude of brews available or enjoying a traditional root beer float.
Contact: Kyle.McCarthy@Purchase.edu
Meets Tuesday, 8pm
Student Center
 
Sound Off — Promotes and participates in the art of slam poetry. Students perform slam on campus and compete in off campus slam events.
Contact: Naima.Ince@Purchase.edu
Meets Wednesday, 6-8pm
Southside
 
Students of Caribbean Ancestry (SOCA)Students of Caribbean Ancestry (SOCA) is a club with the intention of raising awareness about Caribbean culture. The club frequently hosts events showcasing live dance and music, food and workshops.
Contact: Kevin.Collymore@Purchase.edu
Meets Wednesday, 10pm
CCN 0007
 
Students Praising Empowering & Advancing the Kingdom (S.P.E.A.K.)S.P.E.A.K. is a diverse group that celebrates gospel and holds weekly bible discussions.
Contact: Amanda.Diaz@Purchase.edu
Meets Wednesday, 10pm
Clearview Lounge, CCN
 
Students United in Realizing the Vision (SURV)SURV strives to break down the walls of race, ethnicity, and religion to promote family and community to the campus through community service projects that develop the characters of members and improve the world around them.
Contact: Kimihira.Miyake@Purchase.edu
Meets Wednesday, 6pm
Clearview Lounge
 
 
Services  - [Top]

Alternative Clinic – A women’s clinic specifically geared toward providing a women’s safe space on-campus as well as sexual health care, informational resources, free condoms, lube, and pregnancy and STD testing, among other services.

Contact: Jessie.Biele@Purchase.edu
Meets Thursday and Friday, 5:30-8:30pm
Health Services, CCS
 

The BrickThe Brick is Purchase’s official webzine which provides the campus community with a constantly updated and immediately available source of information. Reports on campus and local events, student issues, and entertainment while offering editorials and commentary on a multimedia site.

Website: www.thepurchasebrick.com
Contact: thepurchasebrick@gmail.com
Meets Tuesday, 4:30pm
The Olde H-7-4
 

The Co-opThe Co-op is located above the Dining Hall, and is run completely by student volunteers. It serves as a space for hanging out as well as programming. A selection of delicious 25-cent fair trade teas and coffees are offered, as well as vegan foods. Volunteer for a three hour shift, or just chill out.

Contact: Gabriel.Foreman@Purchase.edu
Meets Wednesdays, 12:00pm
The Co-Op, Main Dining Hall
 

The Independent – A weekly publication which prints student editorials, news articles, arts reviews and pictures. Features the infamous “Backpage” which allows students to
submit one-liners.

Website: www.purchaseindy.com
Contact: PurchaseIndy@gmail.com
Meets Tuesday, 10pm
CCN 1011
 

Purchase Alternative Service Trips (PAST)PAST provides unique service trips where students are immersed into communities of need. Previous trips have included rebuilding New Orleans and working with people living with HIV and AIDS in Philadelphia, PA.

Contact: Service.Trips@Purchase.edu
Meeting Time TBA
Location TBA
 

Purchase Television (PTV)Purchase Television offers student internships and the opportunity to work in a TV studio editing, producing, and filming events and programs. Start your own show or submit video art! Tune into channel 69 on-campus.

Website: www.purchasetv.org
Contact: PTV@PurchaseTV.org
Meetings Wednesday, 10pm
CCS 0026
 
Student Art Gallery — Located in the Student Center, the student-run Gallery offers space for campus artists (regardless of major) to showcase their work.
Contact: Samuel.Rosen@Purchase.edu
Meeting Time TBA
Location TBA
 

The Student Center — Affectionately known as the Stood, it provides a space for student events and recreation. Complete with a stage that welcomes campus bands and national acts, as well as ping-pong, pool, and all the old-school arcade games you could want. Students are hired to work shifts.

Contact: James.Blinstrub@Purchase.edu
Meets Sunday, Noon
Student Center
 

The Submission – An interdisciplinary works journal that features the creative endeavors of the Purchase College community. Included in each addition are works of fiction, poetry, play/screenwriting and the visual arts.

Contact: thesubmission@gmail.com
Meets Thursday, 8pm
CCN 1011
 
Tech Services — Supplies equipment and trained student technicians to provide expert sound quality at the numerous weekly student events.
Contact: Danielle.Depalma@Purchase.edu
Meets Sunday, 5pm
Location TBA
 

WPSR Radio Station – Purchase College’s official radio station. Students are able to host their own shows, be a DJ or simply get involved. Broadcasting out of the student
center, all students are invited to listen to 1610 AM!

Contact: Mailbox@PurchaseRadio.org
Meeting Time TBA
Location TBA