2007 - Undertaker

The Deadman won Royal Rumble for the first time in his illustrious career, entering at No. 30 and then eliminating Shawn Michaels to earn the opportunity at a World Championship.

2006 - Rey Mysterio

In 2006, Rey Mysterio entered at No. 2 and overcame the odds, eliminating Randy Orton to win the Royal Rumble in tribute to the late Eddie Guerrero.


2005 - Batista

Batista and John Cena each withstood the vicious onslaughts of 28 other Superstars, but needed a sudden death overtime period to decide the winner. Batista eliminated Cena and won.

2003 - Brock Lesnar

Brock Lesnar elevated himself into the main event at WrestleMania by winning the 2003 Royal Rumble. Lesnar had to last eliminate Undertaker to pick up the victory and earn his title match at WrestleMania XIX.

2002 - Triple H

After a devastating quad injury and rehabilitation that kept him out of the ring for nine months, Triple H returned and entered Royal Rumble at No. 22, eliminating Mr. Perfect and Kurt Angle for the win.

2001 - Stone Cold Steve Austin

In 2001, the Texas Rattlesnake broke the record for victories by winning his third Royal Rumble. Austin threw Kane over the top to claim the victory.

2000 - The Rock

The Rock took part in one of the most controversial Royal Rumbles in history. He won the 2000 event after he eliminated Big Show. Big Show would later claim he was the actual winner, but that was never recognized.

1999 - Mr. McMahon

The Royal Rumble 1999 saw the Austin - McMahon rivalry in full force. With an assist from The Rock, the No. 2 entrant, Mr. McMahon, stunned the world by winning The Royal Rumble, eliminating Stone Cold.

1998 - Stone Cold Steve Austin

1998 saw all three "faces of Foley" participating in the same match, but Stone Cold Steve Austin, the No. 24 entrant, last eliminated The Rock to win the Royal Rumble.

1997 - Stone Cold Steve Austin

Stone Cold Steve Austin's elimination went unnoticed, and the Rattlesnake snuck his way back in and eliminated Bret Hart to win the 1997 Royal Rumble, his first of three victories in the event.

1996 - Shawn Michaels

His second win in a row, HBK entered at No. 18 and  proceeded to eliminate seven other Superstars, including bodyguard Diesel, on his way to a title match at WrestleMania XII against Bret Hart.

1995 - Shawn Michaels

Shawn Michaels drew  No. 1 and lasted to the end when he took advantage of British Bulldog's premature celebration and tossed Davey Boy over the top to win the 1995 Royal Rumble.

1994 - Bret Hart and Lex Luger

1994 was the year the Royal Rumble had two winners. Bret Hart and Lex Luger were declared co-winners, and both would go on to face Yokozuna at WrestleMania X.

1993 - Yokozuna

When the No. 27 entrant to the 1993 Royal Rumble made his way out, the odds for every other Superstar went down. Yokozuna hit the ring and eliminated seven others on his way to victory.

1992 - Ric Flair

The winner of the 1992 Royal Rumble would claim the vacated WWE Championship, and no Superstar knew more about gold than 16-time champion Ric Flair, who won the title by eliminating Psycho Sid.

1991 - Hulk Hogan

The 1991 Royal Rumble was full of memorable moments from Bushwhacker Luke's four-second performance, to Hulk Hogan eliminating Earthquake to claim his second victory in a row at Royal Rumble.

1990 - Hulk Hogan

Although he entered at No. 25, WWE Champion Hulk Hogan was able to eliminate four other Superstars, lastly throwing Mr. Perfect over the top. Hogan went on to face Ultimate Warrior at WrestleMania VI.

1989 - Big John Studd

WWE Hall of Famer Big John Studd won the 1989 Royal Rumble, entering at No. 27 and eliminating Akeem and Ted DiBiase. This was the second annual Royal Rumble, but the first on pay-per-view.

1988 - "Hacksaw" Jim Duggan

"Hacksaw" Jim Duggan won the inaugural Royal Rumble by eliminating One Man Gang, Dino Bravo, Danny Davis, Bret Hart and Nikolai Volkoff. He will live in WWE history as the first winner of the annual spectacular.