Big East tournament expands to 16 teams

Published: Nov. 7, 2007 at 1:31 PM
PHILADELPHIA, Nov. 7 (UPI) -- All 16 Big East Conference members will take part in the league's post-season basketball tournament beginning in 2009, Big East officials said in Philadelphia.

The league said the decision to expand its tournament from 12 to 16 teams was made Tuesday at the Big East's annual presidents' meeting.

"Our presidents performed a very thorough review of the tournament format," Big East Commissioner Mike Tranghese said in a release. "After extensive deliberation, it was decided that inviting all teams to participate would provide a special opportunity to every men's and women's basketball student-athlete."

The current arrangement has the top 12 teams in the regular-season standings qualifying for the Big East post-season tournament.

In 2009, all 16 teams will advance with the eight lowest seeded teams -- determined through regular-season standings -- playing the first day and the winners going against seeds 5-8 on the second. The top four regular-season finishers will have byes into the round of eight.

© 2007 United Press International. All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be reproduced, redistributed, or manipulated in any form.
Share this story:

Boston Bruins Marco Sturm, of Germany, carries the puck against the the Washington Capitals during the second period at the Verizon Center in Washington on March 16, 2008. The Capitals defeated the Bruins 2-1. (UPI Photo/Kevin Dietsch)
Boston Bruins Vs. Washington Capitals
Full Photo | Slideshow