08 April 2008 | Skip navigation | The A to Z of Pages | Accessibility guide | Contact us (01305 838000)
Weymouth weather
The weather for 08/04/2008 Sunny start becoming cloudy later. The weather for 09/04/2008 Cloudy with sunny periods and showers. The weather for 10/04/2008 Cloudy with showers.
Weather Station Live

Weymouth Pavilion Theatre
Pavilion Theatre
You can now book your tickets online

1571 days
London 2012 Olympic Website
Web Accessible Page Double AA
You are here > Home > Your Council > Elections > Election cycle >

Electoral Cycles Thirds

Current legislation provides that English county councils and London boroughs must have whole-council elections once every four years (quadrennial), while metropolitan districts must have elections by thirds. However, the Government white paper "Modern Local Government - In Touch with the People" sets out proposals for more frequent elections.

Under the elections by thirds system, one third of the councillors in each ward retires or seeks re-election in Years One, Two and Three; there is no election in Year Four. In two-tier areas, such as ours, Year Four is the year in which county council elections are held. This Authority has a mix of three and two member Wards therefore the local elections for councillors take place for two-member wards, in two years out of four.

Councillor Re Election Years

1 MAY 2008

Simon Bowkett Labour Littlemoor
Peter Farrell Liberal Democrat Melcombe Regis
Brian Ellis Liberal Democrat Preston
George Molyneux Liberal Democrat Radipole
Les Ames Independent Tophill West
Tim Munro Independent Underhill
Howard Legg Liberal Democrat Westham East
David Harris Liberal Democrat Westham North
Kathleen Wheller Labour Westham West
Nigel Reed Conservative Weymouth East
Kay Wilcox Labour Weymouth West
Doug Hollings Conservative Wyke Regis

Not having elections ~Tophill East, Upwey & Broadwey. Wey Valley

6 MAY 2010

Mark Tewkesbury Labour Littlemoor
Vacant Vacant Melcombe Regis
Hazel Bruce Conservative Preston
Margaret Leicester Independent Tophill East
Steven Flew Independent Tophill West
Paul Kimber Labour & Co-operative Underhill
Robert Dunster Conservative Upwey & Broadwey
Ian James Liberal Democrat Westham East
Christine James Liberal Democrat Westham North
Alison Scott Conservative Wey Valley
Peter O’Neill Conservative Weymouth West
Geoff Petherick Conservative Wyke Regis

Not having elections ~Radipole, Westham West, Weymouth East

5 May 2011

Joy Stanley Liberal Democrat Melcombe Regis
Peter Chapman Conservative Preston
Bill White Liberal Democrat Radipole
David Hawkins Independent Tophill East
John Nash Conservative Tophill West
Mike Goodman Conservative Upwey and Broadwey
Brendan Webster Liberal Democrat Westham North
Jean Woodward Conservative Westham West
Pamela Nixon Conservative Wey Valley
John Allen Conservative Weymouth East
Richard Kosior Conservative Weymouth West
Anne Kenwood Labour Wyke Regis

Not having elections - Littlemoor, Underhill, Westham East