Skip first level navigation to specific section navigation.
end of second and third level dropdowns.end of first level navigation.
end of club and stadium section navigation.

hall of fame

The Hall of Fame was created to allow supporters to recognise the achievements of City’s greatest players.

A nomination process was set up with the first annual award ceremony held in January 2004. Twenty-three players have now been inducted covering every era of the Club’s League existence.

The official story of all those honoured in Manchester City's Hall of Fame is available in the official Hall of Fame book. The book details the greatest citizens to ever play for the Club and includes detailed profiles of each player's life and career, together with exclusive interviews and statistics. The book is available from the CityStore online shop by clicking here for a reduced rate of £9.99.

The Inductees

Colin Bell MBE

Tony Book

Eric Brook

Joe Corrigan

Sam Cowan

Peter Doherty

Mike Doyle

Tommy Johnson

Paul Lake

Francis Lee

Billy Meredith

Alan Oakes

Roy Paul

Niall Quinn

Mike Summerbee

Frank Swift

Ernie Toseland

Bert Trautmann OBE

Neil Young
Fred Tilson

Lifetime Achievement/Special Awards

Ken Barnes
Roy Clarke
John Hart
Alex Williams MBE

In addition to the player awards, recognition was given in 2005 to the achievements of Joe Mercer OBE & Malcolm Allison during their highly successful period in charge during the late 60s & early 70s. In 2006 a special award was also given to General Secretary Bernard Halford marking his achievements at the club. 

Another award was created to mark "City’s Greatest Ever Goal" as voted by attendees at the 2005 awards. The winner was Paul Dickov for his equalising goal in the Second Division Play Off Final 1999.

As the 2008 Hall of Fame paid homage to the fine work done at the Club's Academy, the staff were honoured with a special award for all they had done over the last 10 years at Platt Lane.

The night's final award was a vote to find the greatest goal scored by an Academy player - and the winner by a huge majority was Shaun Wright-Phillips for his fine strike in the 4-1 demolition of Manchester United back in March 2004.

Designed and hosted by IMG Media