Recent Playoff Results: 2007 2006 2005 2004 2003 2002 2001 2000 1999 1998 1997

The coveted Calder Cup has been a motivational force for American Hockey League teams throughout the League's 71-year history. It is one of our sport’s greatest challenges and ultimate honors to hoist the Calder Cup in victory.

Click here for a list of champions' rosters

The trophy is named for Frank Calder, who served as the National Hockey League’s first President from 1917 to 1943. During the 1920’s, Mr. Calder was instrumental in guiding hockey into the mainstream of America’s major cities including Boston, New York, Detroit and Chicago, while helping in the formation of the American League.

A total of 26 different cities have had their AHL member club win the Calder Cup, led by Hershey and Cleveland nine times each. Both cities will look to grab the record in 2008. The two-time defending Eastern conference champion Hershey Bears, who have played in 20 Finals during their 69 seasons, will bid for their 10th title in 2008, while the Lake Erie Monsters will try (as will the Rockford IceHogs and the Quad City Flames) to become the first team since the 2002 Chicago Wolves to claim the Calder Cup in its first season in the AHL.

Twenty-seven members of the Hockey Hall of Fame have won the Calder Cup, including Johnny Bower, Terry Sawchuk, Emile Francis, Gerry Cheevers, Al Arbour, Andy Bathgate, Larry Robinson, Doug Harvey and 2006 inductee Patrick Roy.

Not only have great players won the Calder Cup, but outstanding coaches have also hoisted the AHL's championship trophy. Hall of Famer Fred “Bun” Cook holds the distinction of winning seven Calder Cups in his career; no other AHL head coach has ever won more than three. Current NHL head coaches with Calder Cup titles on their resumes include Calgary’s Mike Keenan (Rochester, 1983), Nashville’s Barry Trotz (Portland, 1994), Tampa Bay’s John Tortorella (Rochester, 1996), Atlanta’s Bob Hartley (Hershey, 1997), Carolina’s Peter Laviolette (Providence, 1999), Philadelphia’s John Stevens (Philadelphia, 2005) and Ottawa’s John Paddock, who won two Calder Cups as a player and three more as a coach.

More than 100 players and coaches have won both the Calder Cup and Stanley Cup in their careers, including Ace Bailey, Brian Engblom, Dick Gamble, Butch Goring, Adam Graves, Peter Mahovlich, Kirk Maltby, Ab McDonald, Fred Shero and Brian Skrudland. Anaheim Ducks defenseman Joe DiPenta joined that group in 2007.

AHL Hall of Famer Willie Marshall is the league’s all-time leading scorer in both the regular season and the playoffs. Marshall reached the Calder Cup postseason 17 times in his career and recorded 119 points in 112 games. Four men share the honor of having won the most Calder Cups during their playing careers: Bob Solinger, Les Duff, AHL Hall of Famer Fred Glover and current Binghamton Senators assistant coach Mike Busniuk each skated to five titles.

Calder Cup-winning teams have impacted significantly on the success of their NHL parent clubs. On three occasions an AHL club and its NHL affiliate won their respective championships in the same year: In 1976 and 1977, the Montreal Canadiens won the Stanley Cup while their AHL affiliate, the Nova Scotia Voyageurs, won the Calder Cup. And in 1995, the Stanley Cup champion New Jersey Devils saw their AHL affiliate, the Albany River Rats, win a championship as well.

Only one team has been able to win the Calder Cup in three consecutive years. The Springfield Indians, under the leadership of Hockey and AHL Hall of Famers Eddie Shore and Jack Butterfield, skated to Calder Cup championships in 1960, 1961 and 1962.

In the 2007-08 season, an all-time high of 29 teams will compete for the Calder Cup, with the Hamilton Bulldogs looking to become the first team since the 1990-91 Springfield Indians to successfully defend their title.

Skyscraper - B2 (2008 Playoffs)