Organised by
publishing news logo


John Grisham


Book Author
WINNER - The Interpretation of Murder Jed Rubenfeld Headline Review
The Girls Lori Lansens Virago Press
Restless William Boyd Bloomsbury
Love in the Present Tense Catherine Ryan Hyde Doubleday
Semi-detached Griff Rhys Jones Penguin
This Book Will Save Your Life A.M. Homes Granta
Half of a Yellow Sun Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie Fourth Estate
The Testament of Gideon Mack James Robertson Hamish Hamilton


WINNER - Richard Dawkins OUP & Bantam Press
Marina Lewycka Viking
Kate Mosse Orion
Jodi Picoult Hodder & Stoughton


bba biography of the year

Book Author Imprint
WINNER - The Sound of Laughter Peter Kay Century
Humble Pie Gordon Ramsay HarperCollins
Thomas Hardy: The Time-Torn Man Claire Tomalin Viking
Marley and Me John Grogan Hodder & Stoughton


Book Author Imprint
WINNER - The Dangerous Book for Boys Conn and Hal Iggulden HarperCollins
The God Delusion Richard Dawkins Bantam Press
The Island Victoria Hislop Headline Review
The Night Watch Sarah Waters Virago
The Sound of Laughter Peter Kay Century
Suite Française Irene Nemirovsky Chatto & Windus


Book Author Imprint
WINNER - Flanimals of the Deep Ricky Gervais Faber & Faber
The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas John Boyne David Fickling Books
Horrid Henry and the Football Fiend Francesca Simon Orion Children's Books
Peter Pan in Scarlet Geraldine McCaughrean Oxford University Press
Wintersmith Terry Pratchett Doubleday
The Incredible Book Eating Boy Oliver Jeffers HarperCollins Children's Books


Book Author Imprint
WINNER - The Naming of the Dead Ian Rankin Orion
Looking Good Dead Peter James Macmillan/Pan
One Good Turn Kate Atkinson Doubleday
The Righteous Men Sam Bourne HarperCollins


newcomer of the year

Author Book Imprint
WINNER - Victoria Hislop The Island Headline Review
Michael Cox The Meaning of Night John Murray
Jane Harris The Observations Faber & Faber
Diane Setterfield The Thirteenth Tale Orion


Book Author Imprint
WINNER - Anybody Out There Marian Keyes Michael Joseph
Close Martina Cole Headline
The Constant Princess Philippa Gregory HarperCollins
Wicked! Jilly Cooper Bantam


sports book of the year
Book Author Imprint
WINNER - Gerrard: My Autobiography Steven Gerrard Bantam
Pelé: The Autobiography
Pelé Simon & Schuster
Penguins Stopped Play Harry Thompson John Murray
There's an Awful Lot of Bubbly in Brazil Alan Brazil with Mike Parry Highdown


Book Author Imprint
WINNER - The Devil Wears Prada Lauren Weisberger HarperCollins
The Book of General Ignorance The QI Team Faber & Faber
An Inconvenient Truth Al Gore Bloomsbury
Planet Earth Alastair Fothergill BBC Books


  • Four powerful storytellers are shortlisted for this new award for a writer of fiction, narrative non-fiction or poetry who is of African, Caribbean or Asian descent and has made the greatest contribution towards or impact on the literary year.

  • Author Book Imprint
    WINNER -Jackie Kay Wish I Was Here Picador
    John Agard We Brits Bloodaxe
    Gautam Malkani Londonstani Fourth Estate
    Kiran Desai The Inheritance of Loss Bloomsbury