SBY 120x120
SBY 120x120
home > teams > Coca-Cola Championship > Norwich City > Football History

Norwich City History

Former Names:
Club Nickname:'The Canaries'
Previous Grounds:
1902-1908 Newmarket Road
1908-1935 The Nest
1935- Carrow Road
Ground Capacity:21,468
Pitch Measurements:114yd x 74yd
Record Attendance:43,934 v Leicester City, FA Cup 6th Round, 30th March 1963
Record Transfer Paid:1m to Leeds United for Jon Newsome, June 1994
Record Transfer Received:5m from Blackburn Rovers for Chris Sutton, July 1994
League Scoring Record:Ralph Hunt, 31, Division 3(S), 1955-56

Norwich City Football Foundation

Norwich City Football Club was formed at a meeting held at the Criterion Café in White Lion Street Norwich, on Tuesday 17th June 1902. They played their first competitive game in an FA Cup preliminary round, away at Lowestoft Town on Saturday 20th September 1902, losing 5-0. Two schoolmasters, Robert Webster and Joseph Cowper Nutchey, had called the meeting to set up the club and they were heavily involved in its running.

In 1904, they were thrown out of the FA Amateur Cup after an FA commission declared that they were a 'professional' organisation. Webster and Nutchey were suspended for, amongst other things, paying for gym facilities, advertising for players, supplying kit and boots for the players and incurring excessive travelling expenses. A year later, a grand public meeting endorsed Norwich City, under its new regime, as a professional club.

The 'Canaries' started to take shape in 1907 when the kit changed to the now-familiar yellow and green colours. A year later they moved from their Newmarket Road ground to The Nest. However, the safety of the ground was often debated after a wall collapsed in the 1920s, and with Norwich rising through the divisions, the decision was taken in 1935 to build a new ground at Carrow Road.

The club almost went bankrupt in the 1950s after installing floodlights at the stadium, but were saved by an Appeal Fund. Since then, the Canaries have bounced between the divisions, enjoying one of their best periods under Mike Walker in the early 1990s, when they challenged for the first Premier League title and then stunned Bayern Munich in the UEFA Cup in the following season.

Unfortunately, the good times did not last long and they were relegated in 1995, after which they struggled to get back into the top flight until Nigel Worthington guided them to the First Division championship in 2003/04.

Norwich City Football Managers

2001-Nigel Worthington
2000Bryan Hamilton
1998-00Bruce Rioch
1996-98Mike Walker
1995-96Gary Megson
1995Martin O'Neill
1994-95John Deehan
1992-94Mike Walker
1987-92Dave Stringer
1980-87Ken Brown
1973-80John Bond
1969-73Ron Saunders
1966-69Lol Morgan
1962-73Ron Ashman
1962George Swindin
1961-62Willie Reid
1957-61Archie Macaulay
1955-57Tom Parker
1950-55Norman Low
1947-50Duggie Lochhead
1946-47Cyril Spiers
1939-45Bob Young
1939Jimmy Jewell
1937-39Bob Young
1933-37Tom Parker
1929-33James Kerr
1926-29Cecil Potter
1926Bert Stansfield
1921-26Albert Gosnell
1920-21Charles O'Hagan
1919-20Major Frank Buckley
1910-15Bert Stanfield
1909-10Arthur Turner
1907-08James McEwan
1905-07James Bowman

Norwich City Football Honours

Division 1 
Division 2 
Division 3(S) 
Division 3 
League Cup