Organisation Structure
The Government
Leader of the House
Party Whip
Members of Parliament
Parliament Secretariat
Select Committees
Sitting of Parliament
Chamber Seating Plan
Sessions of Parliament
Parliament House
Design Structure
Virtual Tour
Parliament Shop
Visit to Parliament
Opportunities and Announcements
Speaker of Parliament
Abdullah Tarmugi - Speaker of Parliament
Mr Abdullah Tarmugi
Election to the Chair

Mr Abdullah Tarmugi was elected Speaker of the Singapore Parliament on 25 March 2002. He is the seventh Speaker in the history of the Singapore Parliament since it started in 1955 as a Legislative Assembly.


Mr Abdullah has been a Member of Parliament since 1984 and is currently one of six MPs in the East Coast Group Representation Constituency. Prior to his election as the Speaker, Mr Abdullah was the Minister for Community Development and Sports, and Minister-in-charge of Muslim Affairs, ministerial positions that he held since 1996 and 1993 respectively. Mr Abdullah has also served as Deputy Speaker of Parliament from 1989 to 1993.

Duties of the Speaker

The Speaker presides over the sittings of the House and enforces the rules prescribed in the Standing Orders of Parliament for the orderly conduct of parliamentary business. Elected at the commencement of a new Parliament by MPs, the Speaker may or may not be a Member of Parliament, but must possess the qualifications to stand for election as an MP as provided for in the Constitution.

In carrying out his duties in the House, the Speaker must remain impartial and fair to all MPs. The Speaker regulates and enforces the rules of debate. He decides who has the right to speak and puts the question for the House to debate on and vote. The Speaker does not take part in the debates of the House but can abstain or vote for or against a motion if he has an original vote as an elected Member. As the guardian of parliamentary privileges, MPs look to the Speaker for guidance on procedure and he gives his rulings on any point of order, if necessary.

The Speaker acts as the representative of the House in its relations with other Parliaments and outside bodies. The Speaker also welcomes visiting dignitaries and represents Parliament at national events and during official visits abroad. The Speaker is overall in charge of the administration of Parliament and its Secretariat.

The Speaker is assisted by two Deputy Speakers, Mr Matthias Yao Chih and Ms Indranee Rajah.

Mr Abdullah Tarmugi's constituency details

Previous Speakers
Name Year
Abdullah Tarmugi
2002 - present
Tan Soo Khoon
1989 - 2002
Dr Yeoh Ghim Seng
1970 - 1989
P Coomaraswamy 1966 - 1970
AP Rajah
1964 - 1966
EW Barker
1963 - 1964
George Oehlers 1955 - 1963

Deputy Speakers
Name Year
Mr Matthias Yao Chih 2006-present
Ms Indranee Rajah 2006-present
S Iswaran 2004 - 2006
Chew Heng Ching 2002 - 2006
Mrs Lim Hwee Hua 2002 - 2004
Eugene Yap Giau Cheng 1993 - 2002
Abdullah Tarmugi 1989 - 1993
Tan Soo Khoon 1985 - 1989
Lim Boon Heng 1989 - 1991
Hwang Soo Jin 1981 - 1985
Tang See Chim 1972 - 1981
Dr Yeoh Ghim Seng 1968 - 1970
P Coomaraswamy 1966
Dr Fong Kim Heng 1963 - 1965
John Mammen 1961 - 1963
G Kandasamy 1959 - 1961
RCH Lim 1955 - 1959
   Last reviewed date