Website Description.
This site will not work properly in Netscape Navigator 4.x or Internet Explorer 4.x. Your best bet is to download one of the current Web Standards Supporting Browsers, Mozilla, Firefox, Safari or Internet Explorer 6.0

Toronto Star
Visions of Utopia
Diamond Comic Distributors
Lionshead Resort & Yacht Club
Comics Guaranty, LLC
Sips Comics

About Us


Canada’s own national comic book award was launched in early 2005. Initial presentation took place at a gala ceremony on April 30 in Toronto

TORONTO - Canada's first national award recognizing outstanding achievement in the creation of comic books: the JOE SHUSTER AWARD, named after pioneering Toronto-born artist Joe Shuster who, along with writer Jerry Siegel, created the iconic super-powered hero, Superman.

The nomination process begins in January to select the best published works by Canadian comic book creators in the previous year. Nominees are announced in February/March and the public has six to eight weeks to vote for the awards online or by mail-in ballot. Results are announced at a gala ceremony on the weekend of the Paradise Comicon in Toronto, Canada. Plans call for future ceremonies to be held at other major comic book conventions in other cities across Canada.

From coast to coast, Canada is home to many of the comic book industry's top talents. The SHUSTERs are a way of recognizing and celebrating the achievements of Canadian creators - past, present and future.


The name of this award has been approved by the executors of Joe Shuster's estate -his sister, Jean Shuster Peavy, and her son, Warren Peary.

The SHUSTER nominating committee is selected by the Awards Administrative committee and is newly reconstituted for each year of the awards. The nominating committee consists of a cross-section of comic book journalists and experts from across Canada. They can submit any comic book, graphic novel or comics-related publication featuring work by a Canadian creator that was shipped to retailers between January 1 and December 31 of the previous year. Nominations are announced in late February online and the nominated entries are open for a public vote by ballot and/or by email ballot.

For the purposes of the JOE SHUSTER AWARDS (as determined by the Nominating Committee), a Canadian is defined as a native or long-term inhabitant of Canada, or an individual who was born in Canada and now resides elsewhere (possessing either Canadian or dual citizenship). However, this is a fluid definition which is likely to be re-evaluated by the nominating committee in the coming years. The awards also will be expanded in the future to include additional categories, as suggested and determined by the awards Administrative Committee.

Although these awards were chosen, in their first three incarnations, by a public vote, the process is open to change in the future to ensure that selection remains as fair and efficient as possible. In addition, six individuals were selected for Hall of Fame awards in the first year, and four each subsequent year, but these will not be open to a public vote. Instead, they were chosen by a panel of Canadian comic book experts and historians. Also, a special tribute was given in the first year of the SHUSTERs posthumously to Harry Kremer, the original owner of Now & Then Books in Kitchener-Waterloo --- a true pioneer in the industry and a constant and tireless promoter of the medium --- in the category of Canadian Comic Book Retailer Recognition Award. This has been chosen by the awards committee and will serve to usher in the Harry Kremer Memorial Award for Canadian Comic Book Retailer for subsequent years of the JOE SHUSTER AWARDS.

Contact information


James Waley, Director:
Kevin Boyd, Associate Director: