New Hampshire Local History

Belknap County, New Hampshire
History <-> Genealogy

Belknap County, located in central New Hampshire, was formed in 1841 from Strafford and Merrimack counties.

Communities in Belknap County include:  ALTON, Alton Bay, BARNSTEAD, BELMONT, Center Barnstead, CENTER HARBOR, Gaza, GILFORD, GILMANTON, LACONIA, Lakeport, MEREDITH, Meredith Center, NEW HAMPTON, SANBORNTON, Spring Haven, TILTON, The Weirs, West Alton, Winnisquam, and Winona.

Click HERE for General BELKNAP County information and links,
OR Click on the name of the town of interest above,
OR scroll down the page to find the town(s) of interest in alphabetical order.

Belknap County is bordered by the New Hampshire counties of Grafton to the northwest, Carroll to the northeast, Strafford to the east, and Merrimack to the south and southwest.

Please note:  Though the information on this web page is believed to be correct, the possibility of error remains.  Please notify the webmaster should an error be found.
+ Return to Local New Hampshire History +
+ Contact the Webweaver +


BARNSTEAD - Incorporated in 1727

Bear Island BELMONT Buckley CENTER HARBOR GILFORD - established in 1812 GILMANTON
        The Town of Belmont was formed from Gilmanton, having been first incorporated as part of Gilmanton in 1727. LACONIA Lakeport - See LACONIA Lochmere MEREDITH NEW HAMPTON SANBORNTON Spring Haven TILTON The Weirs West Alton - See ALTON Winnisquam - See BELMONT

  • Additional Research Resources:

    Ann McRoden Mensch, Professional Historical Genealogist
    Researching onsight, and with the vast resources of The Allen County Public Library, holding one of the largest genealogical collections in North America.  Search the Library's online catalogue to see some of the printed resources available for a location or topic.
    Return to New Hampshire Local History Main Page.