Swarm General Manager wins award for second straight year


Under the leadership of Marty O'Neill, the Minnesota Swarm have improved their record every year, finishing 10-6 in 2008.
Minnesota Swarm General Manager Marty O'Neill has won the 2008 General Manager of the Year Award. O'Neill helped build the Minnesota Swarm franchise from day one and has assembled a team that has quickly found success in the National Lacrosse League.

The Swarm finished with a 10-6 record in 2008, and hosted the first home playoff game in the club's four year history. Minnesota has advanced to the playoffs for three consecutive seasons under the leadership of O'Neill.

O'Neill joined Swarm for their inaugural season in 2004, being named the first-ever general manager for the team. The former goaltender oversees all aspects of lacrosse operations with the club, including all matters relating to the club's player personnel, coaching staff and scouting, as well as assisting the marketing and promotional departments.

Through his efforts with the team, O'Neill has helped build a successful franchise both on and off the floor. The Swarm have improved their win-loss record every season and have qualified for the playoffs each of the past three years.

O'Neill also won the GM of the Year Award last season (2007).

Previous winners of the General Manager of the Year Award include; Derek Keenan (2006), Bob Hamley (2005), Johnny Mouradian (2004), Kurt Silcott (2003) and Dave Evans (2002).