News-header

John Pugh Leaves !!!, Fires Up Free Blood
Debut Free Blood EP features Hot Chip remix

This just in from the Department of Unsurprising Revelations: John Pugh of !!! fame has formed a band with the self-proclaimed desire to create "manic background music for ensuing debauchery." This new kid on the party-starting block is called Free Blood and is Pugh's collaboration with pal Madeline Davy.

Turns out Free Blood came at a cost, however, as Pugh has, according to his publicist, officially quit !!! to concentrate on his new digs full time.

Free Blood's first release is the "Quick & Painful" / "Never Hear Surf Music" EP, which comes out in the UK on October 15 via Adventures Close to Home. It's the first of three EPs Free Blood will release on the label, and it features a Hot Chip remix of the first track and an iTunes-only remix of the second track by the label's crew. All three EPs will have 12" vinyl as well as digital releases.

Meanwhile, the now Pugh-less !!! are still going strong on their tour with the Field. Their next show is tonight, October 11, in NYC.

"Quick & Painful" / "Never Hear Surf Music":

01 Quick & Painful
02 Never Hear Surf Music
03 Quick & Painful (Hot Chip Mix)
04 Never Hear Surf Music (ACTH Mix) [iTunes exclusive]

!!!:

10-10 Philadelphia, PA - The Fillmore at the TLA *
10-11 New York, NY - Webster Hall *
10-12 Boston, MA - Paradise Rock Club *
10-13 Montreal, Quebec - Le Studio
10-15 Toronto, Ontario - Opera House
10-20 Reykjavik, Iceland - Iceland Airwaves Festival
10-23 Oslo, Norway - Rockefeller
10-24 Copenhagen, Denmark - Vega
10-25 Hamburg, Germany - Knust
10-26 Cologne, Gremany - Gebäude 9
10-27 Lausanne, Switzerland - Docks
10-29 Milan, Italy - Transilvania
10-30 Ravenna, Italy - Bronson
10-31 Zurich, Switzerland - Abart
11-01 Meylan, France - MJC
11-02 Barcelona, Spain - Razz Club
11-03 Bilbao, Spain - Fever Club
11-05 Strasbourg, France - Laiterie
11-07 London, England - KOKO

* with the Field

Fri: 05-09-08: 04:40 PM CDT
Wilco, MMJ, Decemberists Get out the Vote

Fri: 05-09-08: 03:40 PM CDT
Photos: YACHT / Mount Eerie [Bergen, Norway; 05/07/08]

Fri: 05-09-08: 02:40 PM CDT
Jarvis Begins to Commence to Start LP, Adds Shows

Fri: 05-09-08: 01:00 PM CDT
Spiritualized Expand North American Tour

Fri: 05-09-08: 12:20 PM CDT
Iggy, M.I.A., Jenny Lewis on Pancake Mountain DVD

Today's Other Headlines

Browse


Horizontal-dotbar-fw
Thu: 05-08-08 Wed: 05-07-08 Tue: 05-06-08 Mon: 05-05-08 Sat: 05-03-08 Fri: 05-02-08 Thu: 05-01-08 Wed: 04-30-08 Tue: 04-29-08 Mon: 04-28-08 Fri: 04-25-08 Thu: 04-24-08 Wed: 04-23-08 Tue: 04-22-08 Mon: 04-21-08 Fri: 04-18-08 Thu: 04-17-08 Wed: 04-16-08 Tue: 04-15-08 Mon: 04-14-08 Fri: 04-11-08 Thu: 04-10-08 Wed: 04-09-08