Valenzuela City and Sta. Cruz, Marinduque Ink Sisterhood Agreement

Public Information Office

City Government of Valenzuela: Press Releases PR20080405
dated: [2008-04-25]

In pursuit of a common desire to promote favorable relations and cooperation between Valenzuela City and the Municipality of Sta. Cruz, Marinduque and their constituents, Valenzuela City Mayor Sherwin T. Gatchalian and Sta. Cruz, Marinduque Mayor Ruben F. Revilla signed today the Memorandum of Agreement on Sisterhood between the two local government units.

A ”City-Municipality Sisterhood Relationship” program which shall promote and expand an effective and mutually beneficial cooperation for the development of both local government units is thereby established. Priority among the array of programs for implementation is the Transfer of Systems or Technology which shall help generate income for the benefit of the people of Valenzuela and Sta. Cruz, Marinduque. This program will set up a Business One Stop Shop (BOSS) and will usher programs on Real Property Tax Assessment (RPTA) and their revenue-generating systems and procedures; Environmental Protection and Health Sanitation; Trade, Commerce and Industry Promotion; and Economic, Social, Cultural and Tourism Development Projects.

Mayor Gatchalian welcomed the delegates saying, ”It is a great privilege to be chosen over more progressive cities in Metro Manila to be your municipality´┐Żs sister city. We anticipate the growth of the sisterhood agreement in the years to come for the benefit of our constituents.”

Mayor Revilla invites Valenzuela City Officials to their Fiesta this coming May to celebrate the newly-inked bond between Valenzuela City and Sta. Cruz. ”We look forward to promote and enhance mutual understanding and friendship between the people of Valenzuela City and Sta. Cruz, Marinduque,” he said further.

Witnessing the signing held at Maricopa Restaurant are Valenzuela City Vice Mayor Eric M. Martinez; Sta. Cruz Vice Mayor Alejandro C. Palamos; Valenzuela City Councilors Ritche D. Cuadra, Cecille V. Mayo, Fernando G. Padrinao; Sta. Cruz Municipal Councilors Yshmael P. Lim, Erlando T. Nunez, Antonio L. Uy, Jr, MD, Amelia L. Aguirre, Leonora F. Caraan, Benito V. Dy III, Jose Pe´┐Żaverde, ABC President; Ms. Myrna Buencamino, Sta. Cruz Sangguniang Bayan Secretary and Ms. Marither S. Menia, Valenzuela City Public Information Officer.