main icon sub topics 1to5

menu stack

 go up

 Mahapandit Rahul Sankarnarayan receiving Sahitya Akademi Award from Pt.Nehru

Every year since its inception in 1954, the Sahitya Akademi awards prizes Aka. Awards-Brochureto the most outstanding books of literary merit published in any of the major Indian languages recognised by it. The award carries a monetary component
(Rs. 50, 000) and a plaque.



Malayalam fiction writer Thakazhi Sivasankara Pillai receiving the Akademi Award from the first Prime Minister of India, Jawaharlal Nehru


 Sahitya Akademi Awards 1955-2007

 Presentation of Sahitya
Akademi Award

Sahitya Akademi gives twenty four awards to literary works in the languages it has recognised and an equal number to literary translations from and into the languages of India, both after an year-long process of scrutiny, discussion and selection. The awards are meant to recognise and promote excellence in Indian writing and expanding the very definition of Indian literature by acknowledging new trends and movements. They are a reflection of current tastes and contribute to the formation of an Indian sensibility.
The Akademi also gives special awards called Bhasha Samman to writers/scholars for significant contribution to the languages not formally recognised by the Akademi as also for contribution to classical & medieval Literature. It also has a system of electing Fellows and Honorary Fellows, as also offering Anand Coomarswamy and Premchand Fellowships.

 the organisation   I   publications   I   booklist   I   literary activities   I   projects   I   awards & fellowships

 library   I   achievements   I   glossary   I   home   I   contact us  I   Rules & Regulations I 

Copyright © 1999 Sahitya Akademi, India's National Akademi of Letters
online maintenance by Musa Raza