JPS Commemorative Esprit
On-line Register
An ad for the JPS cars from 1978


Mario Andretti and Colin Chapman pose with a formula 1 car and a JPS Esprit in the showroom of Jamestown Motors in California (circa 1979).


Colin Chapman (owner and founder of Lotus Cars) had a long-term sponsorship relationship with the John Players Special cigarette company. The relationship worked so well that "Team Lotus" was the most successful team in Formula one racing for its time. It still ranks near the top in most of the all-time records even though it has not raced in many years. The distinctive black and gold colours of the JPS sponsored Lotus cars is reflected in both the commemorative Esprit and the earlier JPS Europa.

So how many JPS Commemorative Edition cars were actually built? It is "common knowledge" that there were to be 100 for the UK market, 100 for the US/Canada market and 100 for the Rest Of the World market. It seems clear that these production figures were never achieved and that approximately half the 300 planed were actually built. One opinion is shown on this document from Andrew Ferguson where he reports that a total of 185 were built. On the other hand the Esprit book written by Walton states that there were 94 British cars, 26 US cars (10 of the US cars were calif. spec emissions ), and 27 for the "ROW"...rest of world....for 147 total. Lotus told Walton that the first commemorative JPS Esprit was completed by 13 December 1978 as unit number 78120550G. The last was ready on 27th July 1979; unit number: 79070278J.

Another opinion about the number of JPS Esprits produced can be seen in this letter from from Steve Lacey of Lotus Cars to Mr. Parkinson in Nov 1989. Steve claims only a total of 123 JPS Esprits were built - 92 Domestic, 13 ROW, 10 Federal and 8 California cars.

If you know of any JPS Esprit owners please make them aware of our register so we can list as many of the JPS Esprits as possible on this register. The policy of the register is to display e-mail addresses for those who wish it. To ensure privacy, other contact details will not be released to the public. To contact any of the individuals on the register simply leave a comment on the home page or e-mail me at: nadb@king.igs.net and I will have them contact you.

Apart from "yours truly" there is a growing list of known JPS Esprit owners. This register is designed to identify those owners so we can provide one another with mutual support. (Where do you get replacement World Champion badges anyway?)

Known Owners are:

(to see the details of each car - if available - click on the car spec and number)

owner

car spec and #

e-mail address

Federal cars

Mario Andretti

Federal # 001

the Andretti family web site

James Strickland

Federal # 002

jamesws1@mindspring.com

Alexandre Emond

Federal # 003

info@copies-express.ca

Andy Wayne

Federal # 004

svtanstaafl@netzero.net

Will Granger

Federal # 007

LotusElan@shaw.ca

N/A

Federal # 009 (destroyed)

N/A

Jess Marker

Federal # 010

Jiffyjet@aol.com

Ray Tobey

Federal # 017

http://www.bionictoad.com/lotus/

Name??

Federal # 018 (for sale)

905-686-4055 (Toronto area)

John Ridley

Federal # 019

e-mail address ?

Steve Frey

Federal # 020

Vallejo CA

Jon Isherwood

Federal # 023

jonhelen@valstar.net

Bill Galbraith

Federal # 024

billg@holycows.net

Andrew Bobro

Federal # 027

andrew@bobro.net

Name??

Federal # 028 (for sale)

isaac@earthbroadcasting.com

Name??

Federal # 029 (for sale)

www.traderonline.com (Classic cars)

Frank Pusateri

Federal # 031

pusateri@frontiernet.net

Name??

Federal # 035 (for sale)

legendmsdbs2@nucleeus.com

Bruce

Federal # 036

spqromanus@yahoo.com

Chuck??

Federal # 039

e-mail address ?

Rich and Peg Flowers

Federal # 040

rjfplf@libcom.com

name???

Federal # 042 (for sale)

tel: 630-940-9969

Phil Mitchell

Federal # 044

Philip.Mitchell@baesystems.com

Al Zelt

Federal # 046

Al.Zelt@Askoinc.com

Bob Tufts

Federal # 047

rbt@frontiernet.net

Phil Mitchell

Federal # 049 (for Sale)

Philip.Mitchell@baesystems.com

Wayne ?

Federal # 053 (for Sale)

Trnut@aol.com

David Fitch

Federal # 055

chelms202@carolina.rr.com

Raymond Robinson

Federal # 056

raymond@mediashaker.com

Raymond Robinson

Federal # 091 (for sale)

ebay

Rick Kirkbride

Federal # 100

richardkirkbride@yahoo.com

Domestic cars

Jerry (once Nigel Mansell's)

JPS Turbo

jjscm@btinternet.com

Paul Phillips

Domestic # 002

e-mail address ?

Name??

Domestic # 003

e-mail address ?

Chris Barrett

Domestic # 004

chris@bethbarrett.freeserve.co.uk

Nick Warren

Domestic # 005

nw@kerridge.com

David Harrison

Domestic # 006

dkh@lycos.co.uk

Geoff & Pauline Harrison

Domestic # 007

geofph@hotmail.com

Michael Lawrance

Domestic # 010

michael@simplylistedinsurance.com

Martin Andre

Domestic # 013

e-mail address ?

Brian Walley

Domestic # 018

Onston@Farmersweekly.net

Sandra Rossi

Domestic # 019

e-mail address ?

Colin Finch

Domestic # 020

e-mail address ?

Graham Harrison

Domestic # 021

g_n_harr150nz1ah2c@tiscali.co.uk

Name??

Domestic # 022

e-mail address ?

Nigel Carter

Domestic # 023

e-mail address ?

Charles Bloomer

Domestic 024 (for sale)

charles.bloomer@which.net

David Kent

Domestic # 025

david.kent@connect-2.co.uk

Barry Wayne

Domestic # 028 (sold)

barry.wayne@btopenworld.com

Peter Folprecht

Domestic # 029

PFolprec@nibueng.telstra.com.au

Ian Munro

Domestic # 032

nadb@king.igs.net

Graham Capel

Domestic # 033

graham@lotushistory.co.uk

K. E. Plowman

Domestic # 034 (for sale)

Tel: 01527 403136 (UK)

Timothy Hart

Domestic # 035

e-mail address ?

C. Ratwell

Domestic # 037

e-mail address ?

M. Taggard

Domestic # 040

e-mail address ?

Graham Capel

Domestic # 044

graham@lotushistory.co.uk

Alfred Moreton

Domestic # 044 (for sale)

alfred.moreton@xtra.co.nz

D. C. Thompson

Domestic # 047

e-mail address ?

Name??

Domestic # 048

e-mail address ?

Jeremy Carson

Domestic # 061 (for sale)

listed in Club Lotus

Jonathan Chapman

Domestic # 063

jon_chappo@hotmail.com

Liam Fahy

Domestic # 064

liam@shinto.freeserve.co.uk

Mark Jarrold

Domestic # 066

jmvjarrold@btinternet.com

I. McDonald

Domestic # 068

e-mail address ?

Charles Willment

Domestic # 070

treespanner@tiscali.co.uk

Fred Nally

Domestic # 072

Fred.Nally@IPSresourcing.com

D. Campbell

Domestic # 073

e-mail address ?

Name??

Domestic # 077

e-mail address ?

Name??

Domestic # 079 (for sale)

Coys auction

Paul Stringer

Domestic # 083

pauls@mjmc.co.uk

Peter Ritson

Domestic # 085

Peterritson72@aol.com

Name??

Domestic # 086 (for sale)

Tel: 01754 880687 (UK)

Name??

Domestic # 087

e-mail address ?

Paulette Appleby

Domestic # 089

paulette.appleby@wanadoo.frwww.leprielle.com

Name??

Domestic # 092

e-mail address ?

Name??

Domestic # 094

dollshouse@ntlworld.com

David Parkinson

Domestic # 095

e-mail address ?

Steve Simmonds

Domestic # 096 (for sale)

listed on e-bay Mar 2006

dominique Hilarion

Domestic # 098

Dominique.HILARION@3ds.com

David Noble

Domestic # 099

davidjnoble@blueyonder.co.uk

Stewart Milne

non-commem

lotus-esprit@lineone.net

Rest of World cars

Rescue Me Please!

ROW # 010

Pierre-Alain Gaillard

ROW # 012

pa_gaillard@bluewin.ch

Emmanuelle Barideau

ROW # 017

emmanuelle.barideau@yahoo.fr

Name??

ROW # 020

Name??

ROW # 023

Located in Japan - 1998

Ian Peters

ROW # 025

ian@petersracing.com

Franky

ROW # 027

frankybeli@yahoo.es

Name??

ROW # ???

Located in Sydney Australia


Some vintage racers still flying the JPS colours.


This is an appeal for assistance. In 1978 Mario Andretti was Formula One World Champion. In April 1979 Lotus presented him with a 1979 Lotus Esprit before the Long Beach Grand Prix for being champion. This presentation was covered by various members of the press and we understand photos and an article on the event were printed in at least one automotive periodical. We understand copies of the photos and the article were offered for sale on E-bay recently. The JPS Register is willing to pay a resonable finder's fee for someone who can provide us with original copies (see oxymoron collection) of these items. Thanks for your assistance.


JPS-Lotus Web Page

Click here to find a list of registers for other Lotus cars.

the Elan Plus 2 register.

the Excel register.

the Europa register - includes the Europa JPS register.


Back to home page