Skip to [main navigation | secondary navigation | content]
Website A to Z | A - Z of Council Services | Text Only | Site Map | Using this website | Cymraeg
An image of the Celtic Gateway Bridge, Holyhead and the council logo

National Assembly for Wales

Welsh Assembly Government

Link to the Wales on the Web website

Current Location: | news

New Leader reveals cabinet details

Modernisation tops the agenda for newly elected Isle of Anglesey County Council Leader, Phil Fowlie, with social justice and customer care highlighted as priorities for the new Executive Committee.

In a meeting with senior Council officers Cllr Fowlie revealed full details of his newly appointed cabinet and stressed that the group will also be looking at equality and anti-poverty as important issues.

The Leader also said that the ruling group, consisting of the Original Independents and Plaid Cymru, will be working as a team to achieve results for Anglesey. Cllr Fowlie's own responsibilities as leader include key projects such as Môn a Menai Board, the north west Wales Spatial Plan, North Wales Regional Partnership Board as well as issues such as the future of Wylfa Power Station.

Councillor Fowlie said: "This is an exciting time for Anglesey and I look forward to making key changes to ensure we as a Council deliver results for the residents and businesses of the island. As an Executive Committee we will give priority to the modernisation agenda as well as building on some of the successes of the previous administration."

He added: "We will also concentrate on providing for future generations. It is essential that we create quality employment and secure affordable homes for our young people in order to keep them here on Ynys Môn."

Derrick Jones, Managing Director of  the Isle of Anglesey Country Council said: "I look forward to working in partnership with Councillor Fowlie and his new team so that we can continue to provide value for money and quality services for the residents of Ynys Môn."

Council new-comers Ieuan Williams and Clive McGregor take up roles on the Executive Committee, looking after the Corporate Governance and Highways and Transportation portfolios respectively.

Ends 15.5.08
For further information: please contact the Press Office - follow the link below.

Notes to Editors:

The new Executive

Leader – Councillor Phil Fowlie

Robert Ll. Hughes - Social Services and Housing (including D.L.O.)
Clive McGregor  - Highways, Transportation and Maritime
Ieuan Williams  - Corporate Governance
Bob Parry  - Environment (Deputy Leader)
Bryan Owen  - Economic Development and Tourism
Robert Ll. Jones - Planning
Eurfryn Davies  - Education and Leisure
Goronwy Parry  - Finance
Elwyn Schofield  - Property and Smallholdings

See Also

Last updated: 22/05/2008

Adobe Acrobat Reader

Link to Directgov - the widest range of government information

Isle of Anglesey County Council, Council Offices, Llangefni, Anglesey. LL77 7TW. Tel: (01248) 750057